Subscribe to Cache Cow        RSS Feed
-----

Are you a "Nerd", a "Geek", or an "Artist"?

Icon 2 Comments
It seems that there is this stereotype floating around that "Computer Guys" are these socially awkward, introverted, live in their parents basement types. We've all seen it. You go to the code camps and hear people call themselves "nerds" or "geeks", you see the websites out there that incorporate the name (like thinkgeek.com and geek.com), but you almost never hear them speak of themselves as creative artists. Why?!

I often think about how I act and how other people see me when they don't know what I do for a living. Most commonly, people say I look like a "biker". In my personal life, I am a biker, so that makes sense. If i tell people I am a Software Engineer, however, their views of me completely change. Regardless of what our mother's taught us about not judging books by their covers, we still do it. We can't help it. Computer people are no different.