Subscribe to College...        RSS Feed
-----

Computer Science Curriculum

Icon 3 Comments
Hello everyone. I would have posted this in the lounge but I figured it would be more appropriately suited for a blog, very open to discussion. Please note that this is actually my first blog ever so I apologize in advance for any errors. I read the forum guidelines and don't that any of them are violated here.
First ill begin with a little background about myself as I still have not updated my profile on here.
I'm technically a senior at a university majoring in computer science. I really enjoy the subject and can realistically see myself in a development role some day. BUT here are the issues that I am finding myself in the middle of:

-I have worked full time throughout my entire college career
-I work in customer service which is in really no way related to programming or software development
-Every employer would like a lot of experience and I technically have none in the field-no internships either
-I currently work for a very large corporation that is very much in favor of hiring internally and has a very large technical infrastructure which is only going to grow
-The worst part is that I feel like my university is far behind the times and worry deeply about my job prospects

OR maybe I'm wrong and should just relax...

Nonetheless I am finding myself in the middle of classes which are teaching material that is far outdated. For example, in my web development course we are being forced to use Perl to make cgi scripts and we have been forbidden from including any additional CGI libraries. PHP is forbidden and ASP.net is our mortal enemy. I understand that much of college is purely about learning the fundamentals but how realistic is it to apply for a job and list your state of the art Perl skills? The textbook is dated from 1996 and the class just doesn't seem practical in any way.