Subscribe to Macosxnerd101's Blog        RSS Feed
***** 5 Votes

The Excuse "I'm Just a Beginner" Is No Longer Valid

Icon 16 Comments
Today I came across this thread, where the OP refuses to do any critical thinking and continues to ignore the correct advice presented to her. When called on it, she uses the excuses of "I'm a beginner" and "but my professor didn't teach me that."

I went over the notes of the professor ,, and he didn't mention ANYTHING abt swap ... !
how COULD i use something that we never talked abt it + this is the first course of java,, if it was my second the Yeah i could do it but i can't :helpsmilie:

In this case, the instructor actually spelled out selection sort in plain English borderline pseudo-code, using synonyms for "swap."

Too often though, newbies prefer to be spoonfed and use these excuses to try and get us to do just that. Why does this happen though? I think it's a combination of a few different things. First, programming is different and challenging. Most of us didn't have much to relate to it when first learning how to program. Second, professors and instructors may or may not present concepts well, and the added stress of deadlines for assignments doesn't help. So in a fit of anxiety, newbies may often shut down, when they in fact just need to take a step back, break down the problem, and work logically through it.