School Assignment? Project Due Tomorrow? Chat LIVE With A Programming Expert!

Welcome to Dream.In.Code
Become an Expert!

Join 307,161 Programmers for FREE! Get instant access to thousands of experts, tutorials, code snippets, and more! There are 1,510 people online right now. Registration is fast and FREE... Join Now!




About Widelance.com ?

 

About Widelance.com ?, A new Freelance Website

fredulax

9 Oct, 2009 - 02:52 PM
Post #1

New D.I.C Head
*

Joined: 9 Oct, 2009
Posts: 1

Did anyone used this freelance site before widelance.com? i have awarded my first project on it to a coder and it seems to be very secured due to paypal thing that they use and coder minoriting.. I think it has chances to beat rentacoder or other famous freelance cause i really like how it's going (the project) .. Anyway do anyone know it or use it ?

User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Replies(1 - 2)

dsherohman

RE: About Widelance.com ?

10 Oct, 2009 - 02:34 AM
Post #2

D.I.C Head
**

Joined: 29 Mar, 2009
Posts: 204



Thanked: 36 times
My Contributions
Apologies if you're an actual, non-affiliated user of the site, but this smells an awful lot like astroturf to me. A quick look over the site shows completely empty lists for "Top Programmers", "Top Buyers", and "Featured Projects". The "All Projects" RSS feed shows a grand total of six projects on the site, of which two are dated October 2 (posted within 2 minutes of each other) and the other four are dated October 10 (first two at a four minute interval and the other two over the next seven hours).

So, to answer the question asked in the opening post, no, it does not appear that anyone is using it. Maybe the author and one or two friends are posting real projects there, but it looks more like test data than anything else.

If you are in fact the developer of this site, I strongly suggest adding an easy-to-find "how it works" link which explains to both buyers and programmers how your site is used, how much using it costs, what protections are in place to keep them from getting ripped off, and why they should trust you. A section explaining why you think your take on the project-bidding website is better than the established sites that are already out there, known, and (more-or-less) trusted would also be a good idea. Otherwise, nobody will ever sign up with your site or start using it.

Also, if you want people to trust you enough to do business through your site... be honest in your attempts to get traffic and create a market for yourself. Don't pretend that you're a customer of this great site that you've just heard about and you're wondering who else uses it. Lying is an awful way to build trust.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post

sam_benne

RE: About Widelance.com ?

15 Oct, 2009 - 01:04 AM
Post #3

D.I.C Addict
Group Icon

Joined: 16 Jan, 2008
Posts: 645



Thanked: 8 times
Dream Kudos: 400
My Contributions
Just been on it and it has some test data on it "test 11111111". It looks okay but some pages the CSS is broken. I wouldn't use it yet as there is no traffic to it and it lacks in features from what I can see.

What I want to know is how are they making their money. So far there is no ads and from what I have seen I can't see any information on them taking a commision. Also by the looks of it they are using other peoples software that I have not heared of so I am wandering are they paying a liscence or something which would also make me think where are they making their money?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic

Time is now: 11/21/09 06:03PM

Live Help!

Be Social

Dream.In.Code RSS Feed Dream.In.Code LinkedIn Group Follow Us On Twitter Fan Us On Facebook

Tutorials

Programming

Web Development

Reference Sheets

Code Snippets

DIC Chatroom

Bye Bye Ads

Monthly Drawing

Thumb Drive

Top Contributors

Top 10 Kudos This Month