comp science 1st yr. -- C++ or java ?

• (3 Pages)
  • +

33 Replies - 4885 Views - Last Post: 29 August 2009 - 09:55 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

comp science 1st yr. -- C++ or java ?

Posted 23 April 2009 - 07:34 AM

I am doing B.Tech in computer science and I am in the 1st year (I have almost completed 1st year)

I want to learn a language in the forthcoming summer break (2 months) between the first year and second year, and am quite confused if I should go for C++ or Java.
I have no previous experience of C++ (I did not have comp sci in school), but I have studied C in the first year.
I have asked a few people and most of them tell me that trying to learn java is no good if I already dont know C++, because then I will not know what the concept of "classes" is, and therefore will not be able to understand Java properly.

In a nutshell, my questions are-
1. Should I learn Java or C++ ?
2. Should I join a proper institute or buy books and do java/c++ at home??

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: comp science 1st yr. -- C++ or java ?

• Cabbage
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: comp science 1st yr. -- C++ or java ?

Posted 23 April 2009 - 08:04 AM

I have no opinion on which you should learn but this:

I have asked a few people and most of them tell me that trying to learn java is no good if I already dont know C++, because then I will not know what the concept of "classes" is, and therefore will not be able to understand Java properly.

... is utter garbage. If anything, Java is marginally better for teaching classes and object orientation because in Java everything is in a class.

Either language will stand you in good stead.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 25 April 2009 - 01:16 PM

Well ! Java is rather OOP based language than c++.So it would be easier to understand classes using Java.