The Best First Programming Language

"<language> as a first programming language"

• (3 Pages)
  • +

32 Replies - 2781 Views - Last Post: 01 May 2009 - 07:45 PM

Poll: The Best First Programming Language (46 member(s) have cast votes)

Which language is the best for absolute beginners?

1. Java, C#, or similar (21 votes [45.65%])

Percentage of vote: 45.65%

2. Python, Ruby, or similar (2 votes [4.35%])

Percentage of vote: 4.35%

3. C++, Objective-C, or similar (6 votes [13.04%])

Percentage of vote: 13.04%

4. C or similar (8 votes [17.39%])

Percentage of vote: 17.39%

5. Haskell, Lisp, or similar (2 votes [4.35%])

Percentage of vote: 4.35%

6. PHP or similar (1 votes [2.17%])

Percentage of vote: 2.17%

7. Javascript, ActionScript/Flash, or similar (1 votes [2.17%])

Percentage of vote: 2.17%

8. Other (explain in post) (5 votes [10.87%])

Percentage of vote: 10.87%

Vote Guests cannot vote

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

The Best First Programming Language

Posted 25 April 2009 - 10:00 AM

There are tons of posts in each language section with the title "<language> as a first programming language".

I couldn't find one central thread about this, so let's get everyone's opinion in one place!

Let's discuss what language is best for absolute beginners to learn. These beginner programmers will be learning the very basic aspects of software development; logic, debugging, problem solving, etc..

In the poll, I tried to group similar languages together. There is really no point having separate categories for C# and Java in this context. If there are any languages that do not fit in the poll, or if you cannot decide what category your language fits in, please post and hopefully I can have the poll amended.

I'll start with my opinion, which I have copied from a post I just made in one of these "* as a first language" topics:

c0mrade said: