The Best First Programming Language

"<language> as a first programming language"

• (3 Pages)
  • +

32 Replies - 3163 Views - Last Post: 01 May 2009 - 07:45 PM

Poll: The Best First Programming Language (46 member(s) have cast votes)

Which language is the best for absolute beginners?

1. Java, C#, or similar (21 votes [45.65%])

Percentage of vote: 45.65%

2. Python, Ruby, or similar (2 votes [4.35%])

Percentage of vote: 4.35%

3. C++, Objective-C, or similar (6 votes [13.04%])

Percentage of vote: 13.04%

4. C or similar (8 votes [17.39%])

Percentage of vote: 17.39%

5. Haskell, Lisp, or similar (2 votes [4.35%])

Percentage of vote: 4.35%

6. PHP or similar (1 votes [2.17%])

Percentage of vote: 2.17%

7. Javascript, ActionScript/Flash, or similar (1 votes [2.17%])

Percentage of vote: 2.17%

8. Other (explain in post) (5 votes [10.87%])

Percentage of vote: 10.87%

Vote Guests cannot vote

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: The Best First Programming Language

Posted 27 April 2009 - 01:00 PM

Hm... I voted Visual Basic.
I did actually learned that one as first, though when I learned C-based it was painful...
But Visual Basic is kidna good for beginners because... well, itīs syntax isnīt "a == b || (a + b++ - a%(&e))" etc... but it is more like "a Is b Or (a + (b + 1) - a Mod (&e))" - I mean ... more English and that way easier to learn.

VB6 was a pain too, though, because then I got to VB.NET - similar syntax in few parts, but other than that - more logic of the Developerīs site, not English and stuff...

So, I think VB... NET.

And, BTW, iPhone development is using obj-C... When I tried a "Hello World!" app, I was more like... "Hell world!"...
Its syntax is quite illogical for me still - take for example a simple object. Assume I have the class created already.
- In the definitions outside the functions, there is one syntax.
- In the functions - assigning a value to one member is another syntax...