9 Replies - 2584 Views - Last Post: 07 May 2009 - 09:01 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 nerodamsel  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 118
  • Joined: 31-January 09

Can i Run ruby on DevC?

Posted 26 April 2009 - 05:31 AM

I dont know but i want devc++ as my environment can i run ruby
on devc++?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Can i Run ruby on DevC?

#2 JackOfAllTrades  Icon User is offline

  • Saucy!
  • member icon

Reputation: 6110
  • View blog
  • Posts: 23,670
  • Joined: 23-August 08

Re: Can i Run ruby on DevC?

Posted 26 April 2009 - 08:37 AM

DevC++ is a C++ programming IDE. You can use Eclipse and the Aptana RadRails plug-in, however.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 nerodamsel  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 118
  • Joined: 31-January 09

Re: Can i Run ruby on DevC?

Posted 26 April 2009 - 04:33 PM

..i hate ruby environment i dont get it..
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 vikhyat  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 15-February 09

Re: Can i Run ruby on DevC?

Posted 26 April 2009 - 08:40 PM

View Postnerodamsel, on 26 Apr, 2009 - 03:33 PM, said:

..i hate ruby environment i dont get it..


Personally, I don't think an IDE is needed for Ruby programming. All you need is a regular text editor with syntax highlighting and everything else you might expect from it (like auto-indentation) and a command prompt open to run your code and tests. On Windows, ConTEXT and Notepad++ work well. On linux, depending on your desktop environment, you can use gedit or kate.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Nakor  Icon User is offline

  • Professional Lurker
  • member icon

Reputation: 446
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,501
  • Joined: 28-April 09

Re: Can i Run ruby on DevC?

Posted 29 April 2009 - 09:29 PM

If you want an IDE, NetBeans is free and offers Ruby support

http://www.netbeans....ruby/index.html
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 OliveOyl3471  Icon User is offline

  • Everybody's crazy but me!
  • member icon

Reputation: 134
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6,581
  • Joined: 11-July 07

Re: Can i Run ruby on DevC?

Posted 05 May 2009 - 11:47 AM

Let's say I have Notepad++ and I would like to, well not compile, but...run the program in Ruby. Now how do you do that? I know how to use Notepad++ for HTML documents & Javascript, but how do you use it with Ruby?

:blink:

View Postvikhyat, on 26 Apr, 2009 - 10:40 PM, said:

All you need is a regular text editor with syntax highlighting and everything else you might expect from it (like auto-indentation) and a command prompt open to run your code and tests. On Windows, ConTEXT and Notepad++ work well.


Oh...I think this answers my question. It's like with MySQL, you run it in the command prompt?

This post has been edited by OliveOyl3471: 05 May 2009 - 11:50 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 rahulbatra  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 16
  • View blog
  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: 28-December 05

Re: Can i Run ruby on DevC?

Posted 06 May 2009 - 04:37 AM

View PostOliveOyl3471, on 5 May, 2009 - 11:47 AM, said:

Oh...I think this answers my question. It's like with MySQL, you run it in the command prompt?



Exactly, tell your text editor (Notepad++) to run a command like

ruby <name of file>


This would run your ruby code provided the ruby interpreter is in your path variable.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 OliveOyl3471  Icon User is offline

  • Everybody's crazy but me!
  • member icon

Reputation: 134
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6,581
  • Joined: 11-July 07

Re: Can i Run ruby on DevC?

Posted 06 May 2009 - 05:09 PM

It's not working. :(

Is this what the command prompt should look like in Notepad++ for Ruby code?
[attachment=11745:attachment]
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 JackOfAllTrades  Icon User is offline

  • Saucy!
  • member icon

Reputation: 6110
  • View blog
  • Posts: 23,670
  • Joined: 23-August 08

Re: Can i Run ruby on DevC?

Posted 07 May 2009 - 08:50 AM

How did you install Ruby? You need to find the ruby.exe file in any event.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 OliveOyl3471  Icon User is offline

  • Everybody's crazy but me!
  • member icon

Reputation: 134
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6,581
  • Joined: 11-July 07

Re: Can i Run ruby on DevC?

Posted 07 May 2009 - 09:01 AM

Oh crap! I forgot you have to install Ruby...

...maybe I'm not cut out for Ruby. I'm more of a C++ kind of gal.
:blush:

Thanks for the tips though. Maybe someday I'll try it again. haha
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1