Minor in Computer Science

Going to grad school

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 2184 Views - Last Post: 22 May 2009 - 06:10 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Minor in Computer Science

Posted 26 April 2009 - 02:12 PM

I am majoring in physics/astronomy right now, with a minor in computer science. The minor I decided to tack on kind of last minute, so I'm doing 5 or 6 classes in my last three semesters. Even though I'm still not very far into the minor, I've begun to like programming more than doing physics. I've also done a couple research projects on topics in astrophysics, and I don't really enjoy doing research. I'm 90% of the way through a physics/astronomy degree, so I don't want to change my major.

If I'm not too concerned with going to a really top tier school, what are my odds of getting into a master's program? I know I'll probably have to take some "catch up" courses, but I'm a little worried that I'd still be woefully behind everybody else.

Since I don't want to go to grad school for astronomy, I don't really want to take the physics subject GRE. Should I take it anyway, or would CS programs not care? Is there a CS subject GRE?

Thanks for answering my questions and offering any advice.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Minor in Computer Science

• g++ jameson.cpp -o beverage
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Minor in Computer Science

Posted 26 April 2009 - 02:33 PM

Yes, there's a CS subject test for the GRE. Most schools want the general test and then the supplemental CS subject test if your major is in something else, like in your case.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 20 May 2009 - 01:05 PM

Just curious... why do you want to go straight into a graduate program?

In my experience, you are less likely to get a job with a Graduate degree in CS than someone with only 2 years work experience. You won't make more money off-the-bat either, no matter what anyone says.