Some newbie questions and advice.

Needs some advice on pros and cons on using different files.

Page 1 of 1

6 Replies - 830 Views - Last Post: 27 April 2009 - 09:01 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Some newbie questions and advice.

Posted 27 April 2009 - 12:31 AM

Hi, I want to say thank you in advance for all the help I might receive.

I want to make a program that will track Do Not Rent (DNR) People.
I'm a intremediate vb6 programmer and have not coded in a long time.
I do have and wanting to do this on VS2008 professional in VB2008.

I did a simular program from a vb6 book about 12 years ago. it was a address book that i changed a little to add some things I needed it to keep track of, and it saved everything in a text file.

I want to know what the pros and cons are for using a text file? xml file? or a data base?

the data i be keeping track of will be vital statistics as name, state id number, id type, ect. and a picture of the id from a scanner or import from a .png, .jpg, or tiff image.

If i use a data base file either Access 2007, MySQL, or SQL 2005/2008 file, do i need to have Office, MySQL, SQL 2005/2008 programs installed on the the computer im doing the programming on? do i need to have the above programs installed on the target computer?

I do not think a txt file will work for me because of the picture i want to keep with the data not seperatly. So to make it a little more clear I want to be able to add, append/update, not to be able to delete a record, and be able to search the file for a record.

I want to be able to navigate the records or file with first, previous, next, and last. each record will be showed seperatly.