8 Replies - 23344 Views - Last Post: 19 January 2006 - 12:27 AM

#1 punchdown  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 27-January 05

How Do I Add A Stock Quote To My Website

Posted 27 January 2005 - 03:34 PM

I was wondering how I can add a stock quote to my website and have it refresh periodically. Can someone help explain how this can be done.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How Do I Add A Stock Quote To My Website

#2 Amadeus  Icon User is offline

  • g+ + -o drink whiskey.cpp
  • member icon

Reputation: 248
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,507
  • Joined: 12-July 02

Re: How Do I Add A Stock Quote To My Website

Posted 27 January 2005 - 03:37 PM

There about a million stock tickers out there, may of them free. Click here for one. Or did you want something that displayed the value of only one stock?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 punchdown  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 27-January 05

Re: How Do I Add A Stock Quote To My Website

Posted 27 January 2005 - 03:48 PM

I was wanting to add only one stock symbol and price to the top of my website and have it refresh every 5 or 10 minutes.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Amadeus  Icon User is offline

  • g+ + -o drink whiskey.cpp
  • member icon

Reputation: 248
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,507
  • Joined: 12-July 02

Re: How Do I Add A Stock Quote To My Website

Posted 27 January 2005 - 07:42 PM

Do you want the work done client side? There are some javascript implementations (click here) for one. You can also do it server side. What scripting does your host support? ASP? PHP?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 punchdown  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 27-January 05

Re: How Do I Add A Stock Quote To My Website

Posted 28 January 2005 - 10:46 AM

What I had in mind to do is create a page on my website that I can go to from my Blackberry and it will just list, say 5 stocks, and their current price. I want to stocks to be hard coded because they won't ever change. I only want to see the same 5 stocks. I would like just the symbol and the price listed.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 maybewecan  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 15-February 05

Re: How Do I Add A Stock Quote To My Website

Posted 18 February 2005 - 09:19 AM

I am looking to do the same thing. I want to add just our company's current stock price to our internal website. I have been searching all over the web. Can someone help please!!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Amadeus  Icon User is offline

  • g+ + -o drink whiskey.cpp
  • member icon

Reputation: 248
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,507
  • Joined: 12-July 02

Re: How Do I Add A Stock Quote To My Website

Posted 18 February 2005 - 10:13 AM

The same questions apply. What type of scripting does your internal server support? As an fyi, this can be easilty doen with ASP.NET web services, but probably also through the use of the ASP.NET HTTPWebRequest object.

Click Here for a good explanation of using .NET objects to set of a stock ticker.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 maybewecan  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 15-February 05

Re: How Do I Add A Stock Quote To My Website

Posted 18 February 2005 - 03:33 PM

My server handles all script types. I was looking for a Javascript or something else. Keep in mind I only want to display my company's stock information.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 creativeny  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 19-January 06

Re: How Do I Add A Stock Quote To My Website

Posted 19 January 2006 - 12:27 AM

maybewecan, on 18 Feb, 2005 - 04:30 PM, said:

My server handles all script types. I was looking for a Javascript or something else. Keep in mind I only want to display my company's stock information.

Hi Guys,
Just wondering if anyone has figured this out in the last year!
Pete
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1