13 Replies - 1318 Views - Last Post: 30 April 2009 - 06:16 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Need help desiding how to make the game

Posted 27 April 2009 - 10:31 AM

Hey there, Im new here and i have made some desiscions.

Im also new to game programming but i have some friends that can help me
I wanna make a game engine from scratch by myself that supports 3D, all networking like TCP/IP, LAN, DirectX Shaders,can import/export stuff, animation feature, map editor, is there anybody that has the same question like me and have got that answered?

The Game im deciding on: Zombie game, you shall defend and help survivors, shoot the zombies with the guns you can find etc,i know, similiar to the last stand but with lots of more features and 3D.

I have checked the site marek-knows.com and thought about buying the openGL game engine but stll unsure as i want to code in DirectX

So how should i start basically?

Im bored and its boring coding normally C++ apps.
I want to make a huge project like in this series:

Part1: Rendering Device
Part2: Input
Part3: Component and Game screen, Shaders, etc.

Programming Language: C++/C#/XNA
Graphical API: DirectX 10 (Windows vista 32bit)
3D modeling software: 3ds max 2010
Texturing Tool: Photoshop CS4
Sound: ?

I saw the Ghost toast here on DIC aswell, pretty cool and wish i could make it myself but i think its abit to hard, if there were some kinda step-by-step, like i showed.

I have found InnovationEngine but that didnt turn out well because it was most out of date and lots of errors were found, im stuck here..:(

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Need help desiding how to make the game

• フカユ
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Need help desiding how to make the game

Posted 27 April 2009 - 10:45 AM

Hi there

Wow! Thats a lot of info :P

How much experience do you have in c++? If you have a specific idea it might be easier to focus on just that rather than writing an engine, wouldn't you agree?