Flash/Actionsript button

I am trying to get a simple start and stop and next button for my flas

Page 1 of 1

7 Replies - 1074 Views - Last Post: 16 May 2009 - 02:04 AM

#1 Buzz Lightyear  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 27-January 08

Flash/Actionsript button

Post icon  Posted 27 April 2009 - 08:08 PM

 function handleClick1(pEvent:MouseEvent):void {
	stop();
}


I have a simple flash text animation that I want to add a stop, start and next button. I have tried everything I can think of and still can not get them to work. I do not know what I am doing wrong.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Flash/Actionsript button

#2 Buzz Lightyear  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 27-January 08

Re: Flash/Actionsript button

Posted 27 April 2009 - 08:38 PM

Every time I try to test the movie I get an error message that says "class or interface could not be loaded". Does anyone know what that means.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 blake912  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 15-April 09

Re: Flash/Actionsript button

Posted 27 April 2009 - 09:34 PM

Are you adding the actionscript to its own class (aka doing it in an example.as file) or is it in a frame?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 blake912  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 15-April 09

Re: Flash/Actionsript button

Posted 27 April 2009 - 09:40 PM

also you're code should be
test_btn.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, handleClick1);

function handleClick1(e:MouseEvent):void
{
	stop();
}



the instance name of the button was "test_btn" which i added an event listener to. Then used your event handler name to form the method to handle the event.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Aurel300  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 13
  • View blog
  • Posts: 230
  • Joined: 10-November 07

Re: Flash/Actionsript button

Posted 28 April 2009 - 10:46 AM

Why the hell you people donīt just use on (release) ???
Like you are more "pro" when you use more lines!?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 blake912  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 15-April 09

Re: Flash/Actionsript button

Posted 28 April 2009 - 11:16 AM

View PostAurel300, on 28 Apr, 2009 - 09:46 AM, said:

Why the hell you people donīt just use on (release) ???
Like you are more "pro" when you use more lines!?


why don't you help.... instead of just try and make yourself feel smart.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 r0x0rcist  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: 15-May 09

Re: Flash/Actionsript button

Posted 15 May 2009 - 11:42 AM

View Postblake912, on 28 Apr, 2009 - 10:16 AM, said:

View PostAurel300, on 28 Apr, 2009 - 09:46 AM, said:

Why the hell you people donīt just use on (release) ???
Like you are more "pro" when you use more lines!?


why don't you help.... instead of just try and make yourself feel smart.

amen! *shakes head*
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 SoLi  Icon User is offline

  • andydust.com

Reputation: 41
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,438
  • Joined: 27-January 02

Re: Flash/Actionsript button

Posted 16 May 2009 - 02:04 AM

View PostAurel300, on 28 Apr, 2009 - 05:46 PM, said:

Why the hell you people donīt just use on (release) ???
Like you are more "pro" when you use more lines!?


Because clearly he is using AS3, where your method will not work...
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1