11 Replies - 1247 Views - Last Post: 06 May 2009 - 12:07 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Fork

Post icon  Posted 29 April 2009 - 07:52 PM

I am working on one of my projects where i have to extract two different version of same database schema and diff it.
I am new to perl and i am using it to extract just DDL of database from the .sql file using pattern matching.

My pattern matching works like this:

$/ = ";\n"; # this is my seperater

if ($lines =~ /(create\s+(table|view|index|unique index|trigger).*?;)/gs)
{
my $stmt = $1;
#$stmt =~ s/\n/ /g; # remove newlines and read in one line.
print FILEWRITE "$stmt\n";
}

But, the problem is in .sql source file there are some white spaces between ";" and "\n";

to get over this i am trying to use Fork, to remove whitespaces first and then read a file with $/ = ";\n";seperater, for example,
FORK:{
if ($pid = fork)
{
while (<FILE>)
{
$_ = s/;\s*\$/;/;
}
}
elsif(defined($pid))
{
$/ = ";\n";
while(my $line =<FILE>)
{
#---Do pattern matching and writing to file
}
}

But this is not working as i am aspecting, if any one have any suggestion???

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Fork

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Fork

Posted 29 April 2009 - 11:53 PM

Well how is the program behaving? I guess I can't really tell how the program is suppose to run. Perhaps you could post your code with text highlighting?

This post has been edited by rharriso: 29 April 2009 - 11:55 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 30 April 2009 - 12:19 AM

View Postrharriso, on 29 Apr, 2009 - 10:53 PM, said:

Well how is the program behaving? I guess I can't really tell how the program is suppose to run. Perhaps you could post your code with text highlighting?
This is my code, what i have done till now

use strict; 
use warnings; 

my $dir1 =   $ARGV[0] 
my $dir2 =   $ARGV[1]; 
my $file = 'authority.sql'; 

read_file($dir1,$file); # call subroutine to process file1