Linux Dsl Problem Help!

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 2057 Views - Last Post: 15 February 2005 - 09:30 AM

#1 offthewall  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: 27-January 05

Linux Dsl Problem Help!

Posted 07 February 2005 - 02:03 AM

I dual boot my computer with
Windows XP and Red Hat 3 i386
Everythings works great
but I am not sure how to ocnfigure my internet on linux
I've set up a network with xDSL Connection
I activated it and it's active but I still can't go on.
I use an external modem some Speed Stream to access
SBC Yahoo DSL. Also I noticed in the beginning when Im going on to linux the computer would stop at eth0 for along time..then it would fail
and continue. Not sure.
Can someone help please?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Linux Dsl Problem Help!

#2 Amadeus  Icon User is offline

  • g+ + -o drink whiskey.cpp
  • member icon

Reputation: 248
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,506
  • Joined: 12-July 02

Re: Linux Dsl Problem Help!

Posted 07 February 2005 - 06:59 AM

moved from C/C++
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Nova Dragoon  Icon User is offline

  • The Innocent Shall Suffer, Big Time
  • member icon

Reputation: 36
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6,169
  • Joined: 16-August 01

Re: Linux Dsl Problem Help!

Posted 07 February 2005 - 09:05 AM

how are you connecting the modem to your computer? usb or ethernet?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 offthewall  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: 27-January 05

Re: Linux Dsl Problem Help!

Posted 11 February 2005 - 12:39 AM

i am conneceting my ethernet
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Nova Dragoon  Icon User is offline

  • The Innocent Shall Suffer, Big Time
  • member icon

Reputation: 36
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6,169
  • Joined: 16-August 01

Re: Linux Dsl Problem Help!

Posted 15 February 2005 - 09:30 AM

Oh snap i forgot about this

If you are connecting with the ethernet, then the modem should be broadcasting DHCP, and if your network card in linux is configured for that, then it should get the internet no problem


And when you say RedHat3 do you mean Redhat Fedora Core 3?


do a quick /sbin/ifconfig and post the contents of that here, so i can get a general direction of where to go
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1