5 Replies - 781 Views - Last Post: 11 May 2009 - 08:36 PM

• using Caffeine;
  • member icon

• View blog

New to graphics design.

Posted 08 May 2009 - 01:22 PM

Hi,

I'm a total noob when it comes to graphics. I want to improve the logo for my business and I don't have a clue where to start. I went to a web site about creating logos. They all talk about adobe photoshop or GIMP. I downloaded GIMP but don't have a clue where to begin.

I have a background image that I want to use:

Attached Image

I want to do something interesting with the text that will go on top of it.

I think it will in no doubt be better than what I have:

Attached Image

Or could you perhaps give me an idea where I could learn how to make a logo?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: New to graphics design.

• #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: New to graphics design.

Posted 08 May 2009 - 02:54 PM

http://gimptalk.com/
^ They have a lot of tutorials and examples of Gimp-created artwork. That is where I learned a lot of Gimp.

HTH
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• using Caffeine;
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 08 May 2009 - 02:58 PM

I'm looking at the link. I found a sort of a beginner tutorial on creating a logo with GIMP. Didn't find it all that hard. Just gotta find a way to do something attractive to the eye. :D
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 08 May 2009 - 03:01 PM

View PostSixOfEleven, on 8 May, 2009 - 01:58 PM, said:

I'm looking at the link. I found a sort of a beginner tutorial on creating a logo with GIMP. Didn't find it all that hard. Just gotta find a way to do something attractive to the eye. :D

Maybe you could just do it with super-fast polygon evolution :D

This post has been edited by StarBP: 08 May 2009 - 03:17 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 11 May 2009 - 07:24 PM