4 Replies - 363 Views - Last Post: 11 May 2009 - 11:10 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Hi, I'm Notehead.

Posted 11 May 2009 - 07:43 AM

Hi there, dreamincode folks! I developed COBOL on a VAX for about 10 years before getting into Oracle SQL & PL/SQL. I've been specializing in supporting and doing back-end coding for a contracting product by I-many called CARS (Contracting And Reporting System) which is used in pharma and manufacturing.

If there's a subject less interesting and more unnecessarily complex than pharmaceutical contracting, it must be truly deadly! ;) I'm an experienced composer also and I'd like to learn more about the languages and techniques used for audio in the gaming industry.

Anyway, I'm glad to have DIC as an additional resource for code-related questions because I do like to finesse and streamline my code when time allows. Hopefully DIC will also be a resource for info about other positions and/or temp gigs in North and Central NJ.

By the way, I appreciate your insistence on proper English. It's so annoying to try to communicate with somebody who writes incompetent or sloppy emails or posts -- and it makes you wonder what their code must look like! :)

See you around,
Notehead

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Hi, I'm Notehead.

• #include <greeter>
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Hi, I'm Notehead.

Posted 11 May 2009 - 09:26 AM

I totally agree with you there Notehead, by the way, welcome to Dream.In.Code! It's great to see another New Jersey member, I myself am from New Jersey. What part of NJ are you from?

Anyway, it's great to see you involved with COBOL and interested in SQL and Oracle. DIC has many helpful resources, ranging from knowledgeable experts to snippets and tutorials. You'll definitely be able to benefit from the extensive amount of resources we have here, I know I have.