3 Replies - 5077 Views - Last Post: 03 June 2009 - 07:51 PM

#1 nusaiba  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 31-March 09

connect two computers using access point

Posted 13 May 2009 - 01:15 AM

Hello everybody...
i just need to know how can i connect two computers wireless using access point.
thanks in advance...
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: connect two computers using access point

#2 firebolt  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 92
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,561
  • Joined: 20-February 09

Re: connect two computers using access point

Posted 14 May 2009 - 11:25 PM

Posted Image

Routers.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 DeCompile  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 19
  • View blog
  • Posts: 301
  • Joined: 20-July 08

Re: connect two computers using access point

Posted 22 May 2009 - 08:49 PM

To do such things you must:

A. Make sure both computers are wirelessly compatible (Use the same wireless subject eg. A, B, G, N)

B. Use a wireless access point that is compatible with the chosen wireless subject.

C. Configure the wireless access point to:

1. Easiest -> Setup static IP address for the two wireless clients.
2. Medium -> Setup DHCP on the wireless access point.
3. Hardest (Almost most secure) -> Configure DHCP server to only acknowledge requests made by certain clients.

This will then allow your two clients to communicate via a wireless access point.

Also begs to question, if you're only using two clients; why not just peer-to-peer?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 DingleNutZ  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 121
  • Joined: 02-May 09

Re: connect two computers using access point

Posted 03 June 2009 - 07:51 PM

to enable, and beable to use the AP (well on most linksys AP's anyway) you need to have a physical connection to the AP for it to work.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1