5 Replies - 8319 Views - Last Post: 19 May 2009 - 03:18 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How To Make Your Own Programming Language

Posted 13 May 2009 - 07:50 AM

Hi I Am New To programing And I Just Wanted To Know If Its Possible To Make Your Own Programming Language
And If Its Possible Could You Post Some Good Tutorials I Know It Wont Be Easy To Do But I Just Wanna Know How To Do It :^: :^: :^:

P.S. I Dont Want Post That Have Nothing To Do With The Topic And That Call Me A Noob

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How To Make Your Own Programming Language

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How To Make Your Own Programming Language

Posted 13 May 2009 - 08:32 AM

Yes it is quite possible. In fact there are tons of languages out there. I am also interested in trying to do this and will have to once I get to a certain course in my field. But back to you. Creating a programming language is TREMENDOUSLY hard. First I would point you to articles on compiler design, then parsing. To be honest if your really that ambitious start with compiler design. But I would suggest you start smaller. Usually it takes a lot of experience to do this kind of thing.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 14 May 2009 - 09:17 PM

I am currently doing the same kind of thing for my engineering degree. If I remember then I might even post some/all of my code here when I'm finished (still a few weeks away).
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Segmentation fault
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 15 May 2009 - 01:45 AM

RCQ Games,

Making a pretty basic programming language probably isn't as hard as you think, but honestly if you are asking about it then it's probably too much for you right now. I say that mainly because you came in here asking if it was possible; hypothetically speaking, if making "your own programming language" was impossible then where did all of the languages we have now come from?