Page 1 of 1

Do I have VB6 Legacy Code In My vb.net Project How can you tell. Rate Topic: -----

#1 AdamSpeight2008  Icon User is offline

  • MrCupOfT
  • member icon


Reputation: 2239
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,409
  • Joined: 29-May 08

Post icon  Posted 15 May 2009 - 04:31 PM

Do I Have VB6 Legacy Code In My Project

For example image this was a section of your code
Attached Image
No errors (red squiggly lines)

To tell navigate to References
Attached Image
And remove the tick beside the Namespace Microsoft.VisualBasic
Attached Image

Now when you go back to Code Editor
You have all the following error and red squiggly lines
Attached ImageAttached Image

How to fix those error is the part of the steps of learning vb.net.
Just remember that every type as additional methods associated with it.
For example
A String -> String.Substring
Integer -> Integer.TryParse

Learning not be dependant on that namespace is part of the journey of become a vb.net code

So soon you be a Non-Legacy Coding Ninja :ph34r:

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Do I have VB6 Legacy Code In My vb.net Project

#2 CharlieMay  Icon User is offline

  • This space intentionally left blank
  • member icon

Reputation: 1605
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,162
  • Joined: 25-September 09

Posted 06 February 2010 - 06:05 AM

Adam,
I struggle a lot with some of the legacy code. Especially msgbox, it's just quicker to type and I've used it for so long that I find myself typing it naturally. I know I can take out the namespace so that I receive an error but I was wondering, is there a way to make the editor create new solutions without that namespace on by default?

This post has been edited by CharlieMay: 06 February 2010 - 06:05 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1