Making games in Opengl/C++ Questions

A few questions from a noob

Page 1 of 1

8 Replies - 7897 Views - Last Post: 17 May 2009 - 03:35 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Making games in Opengl/C++ Questions

Post icon  Posted 16 May 2009 - 03:51 PM

I'm very new to programming and absolutely love it. I started with Java and I'm now 3 semesters deep in college
with courses on java. I wanted to start to make games and found out the best approach to go with game dev is to
use C++/OpenGl. I have a few questions that might seem stupid but can't seem to get any answers.

-In good detail,since im new to this what is Opengl?

-What software,programs do I need to use,compile,run or whatever its called on Opengl?

-Can I make a game with both C++ and Opengl?

-Is there any good books or websites that would help me and my super noobie status?

Thanks so much for the help in advance.

This post has been edited by BlackMagick: 16 May 2009 - 04:32 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Making games in Opengl/C++ Questions

• Segmentation fault
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Making games in Opengl/C++ Questions

Posted 16 May 2009 - 09:42 PM

Here is a link to an online version of the red book, which is pretty much the definitive guide when it comes to OpenGL. You can also purchase a copy of this book online and in most stores. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 17 May 2009 - 09:27 AM

That link helped a lot but still has me scathing my head. Where do I write this Opengl code, and do I need a certian program to view my work?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Isn't a volcano just an angry hill?
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 17 May 2009 - 10:01 AM

It sounds like you need to learn programming first before you make stuff with OpenGL. If you were ready to make a game at this low level, you wouldn't be asking where to write the code.