1 Replies - 685 Views - Last Post: 24 May 2009 - 12:25 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Starting a Career in Programming

Posted 24 May 2009 - 07:54 AM

Hello,

My name is Jason. I'm 21 and have been into computers since I was about 12 or 13. I picked up on the "inner-workings" very quickly and soon got into programming. I started with web-based programming from HTML to PHP - and then moved onto VB, Delphi, C++, etc etc. I've dabbled in a little bit of everything but I've honestly never made any big projects in anything other than VB.

When I was a freshman in high school, I joined FBLA and won 2nd place in state for VB programming. I went onto nationals in Denver, Colorado and was beat with my weakness.. socializing. Instead of studying and trying, I hung out and went on dates and didn't even place while I was in nationals.

My social life also caused me to drop out of school in eleventh grade. However, I did get my GED and am not looking to pursue a career in computer programming. I catch on very quickly and everything I've learned has been self-taught. I was recently accepted into Daytona State for 'Computer Programming' and I really just want to know if I'm on the right track?

I believe my goal would be to eventually be a freelance programmer making my own time and such but at the moment I would really just like to get my foot in the door. Am I limiting myself by going for computer programming or should I shoot for something like computer science or similar? Any tips, information, or experience anyone would like to share? What should I expect in the college life? I assume there will be lots of math but what else?

Thank you
-Jason

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Starting a Career in Programming

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Starting a Career in Programming

Posted 24 May 2009 - 12:25 PM