Css, browsers and versions

When to stop tuning css for old browsers

Page 1 of 1

5 Replies - 977 Views - Last Post: 31 May 2009 - 01:56 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Css, browsers and versions

Posted 27 May 2009 - 11:24 PM

I have been coding php, (x)html and css for several years now. The hardest thing to decide is, when do I stop tuning my css for a specific browser? Let's say, IE6!
Sometimes coding css gets really painful while tuning css for specific browser and you never seem to end up happy with your result ( thinks of IE6...) :rolleyes:

When do you stop tuning css for older browsers? Do you follow marketshare or do you watch the top most used browser of your visitors?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Css, browsers and versions

• blub

• View blog

Re: Css, browsers and versions

Posted 28 May 2009 - 11:17 AM

always optimize your site for the newest used* browsers and 1 version behind
optimum between top used browser of your visitors and marketshare

and of corse
IE8 -> IE7
FF3 -> FF2
and so on
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• I wrote you an code
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 28 May 2009 - 11:31 AM

I refuse to deal with IE6. The world has moved on, and if you haven't, you're just like one of those bastards who is worried about the switch to digital television.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 28 May 2009 - 12:46 PM

View Postautodog, on 27 May, 2009 - 10:24 PM, said:

I have been coding php, (x)html and css for several years now. The hardest thing to decide is, when do I stop tuning my css for a specific browser? Let's say, IE6!
Sometimes coding css gets really painful while tuning css for specific browser and you never seem to end up happy with your result ( thinks of IE6...) :rolleyes:

When do you stop tuning css for older browsers? Do you follow marketshare or do you watch the top most used browser of your visitors?