I'm new to the world of programming

• (3 Pages)
  • +

36 Replies - 6657 Views - Last Post: 13 May 2012 - 01:16 PM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

I'm new to the world of programming

Posted 29 May 2009 - 10:45 AM

I need some help with deciding on which language to start off with. Please, dont advise a hard one, because, like i said, im new. Thanks!
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: I'm new to the world of programming

• LIKE A BOSS
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: I'm new to the world of programming

Posted 29 May 2009 - 11:15 AM

View PostDark_Necros, on 29 May, 2009 - 11:45 AM, said:

I need some help with deciding on which language to start off with. Please, dont advise a hard one, because, like i said, im new. Thanks!

Python or Ruby, in my opinion. Both are excellent languages.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 29 May 2009 - 11:25 AM

View PostDark_Necros, on 29 May, 2009 - 09:45 AM, said:

I depends on what kind of programs you want to write.

Games, audio, graphics are usually written in C/C++. database is often C# or Visual Basic. there are always exceptions to those but that's a general guideline. I'd look at getting a book on general programming concepts and object oriented programming. C/C++/C# are good languages to start with. Java is decent too. VB is fine, but I'd go with C and it's derivatives.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• |>|20-514<|{3|2

• View blog

Posted 29 May 2009 - 11:53 AM

I agree with bigtonyk Java will throw you into classes and such and will force you to understand how they work, which is excellent to know anyways as classes are a common occurence in C++ and structs are quite common in C whereas I have seen plenty of things that resemble classes or structs in other languages.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 29 May 2009 - 06:26 PM

Basic is the perfect language for you. I strongly advise it.