I'm new to the world of programming

• (3 Pages)
  • +

36 Replies - 6403 Views - Last Post: 13 May 2012 - 01:16 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: I'm new to the world of programming

Posted 24 April 2011 - 07:47 PM

For such a general comment, use VB or VBA please!
No thought for me.
Again, HTML is a web development language, not programming language
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• using System.Linq;
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 24 April 2011 - 08:09 PM

HTML is not a programming language - neither web dev, nor programming. It is a markup language. You cannot define object behaviors and actions in HTML, but rather their appearance only.

For a multitude of opinions on this, you might want to check out this thread.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#33 Curtis Rutland  Icon User is online

• (╯□)╯︵ (~ .o.)~
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 25 April 2011 - 10:27 AM

Quite honestly, I think a good starting point is good old Pascal.

Ugh, no. I don't think it's smart to waste time learning a language that teaches you old concepts and simply isn't used in the industry. You might find a place here and there that has a Pascal application, but they'll be few and far between.

I'm of the opinion that you shouldn't learn stuff that's not useful, when you could spend the same time learning something that teaches you the same thing, and yet will still be useful.

Just like you shouldn't start with Basic. Maybe VB.NET, but even that isn't the best idea, in my opinion, because it can encourage bad and sloppy practice.

Java is fairly standard. You'll find that most college CS course paths start with Java classes, though some start with C#. Either is a great place to start your education (though I'm more than willing to push C#, since it's what I use and love). Python is good and flexible.