7 Replies - 1210 Views - Last Post: 31 May 2009 - 08:06 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Linux+ Certification

Posted 29 May 2009 - 08:54 PM

I am presently a high school student. I am interested in the Linux+ certification. What is its significance in your educational career? If anyone of you has actually given the exam, can you please tell me if there are questions apart from MCQs? How many hours of study will it require within two weeks if I already have two years of Linux experience?

Moreover, do British/American universities consider this certification? (please try to provide an official source to this answer)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Linux+ Certification

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Re: Linux+ Certification

Posted 30 May 2009 - 01:23 AM

The Linux+ certification is directed towards those that are new / beginners towards Linux. The certification provides a prospective employee that you know the basics of Linux. They say that it's vendor specific, but you'll find that they concentrate on RedHat.

MCQ's are great, they're proven questions / answers, but they aren't definitive. Comptia (provider of the Linux+ certification) will take a certain question and reword it, or give a slight difference to make things interesting and to judge your problem solving capabilities. Or worse off, they will give a question where the answers are all wrong and expect the correct answer to be the least wrong.

Depending on your ability for knowledge retention, two weeks of an hour a day would be more than sufficient to pass this exam with flying colours, especially as you say you've had two years of Linux experience.

If you're looking at using this certification as a knowledge reference for a university, don't. You'd be better off spending your time and money on the RCE (RedHat Certified Engineer). It holds a lot more weight in the IT industry.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Dreaming Coder
  • member icon

• View blog