6 Replies - 1507 Views - Last Post: 01 April 2005 - 10:49 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 iamcenz  Icon User is offline

  • You wish you were my hand!
  • member icon

Reputation: 7
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,442
  • Joined: 26-March 01

ummm error...

Posted 31 March 2005 - 12:30 PM

ok, i uploaded all the files to the test server, and it dont work, what i did was this. i make a HTML page, took the top part right before where the main content goes, like this.
<html>
<head>
<title>LandLine Communitcations Inc.</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">
<table width="760" height="301" border="0" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" id="Table_01">
	<tr>
  <td height="84">
 	 <img src="images/mobile_01.jpg" width="229" height="84" alt=""></td>
  <td>
 	 <img src="images/about_light.jpg" width="101" height="84" alt=""></td>
  <td>
 	 <img src="images/phones_light.jpg" width="101" height="84" alt=""></td>
  <td>
 	 <img src="images/cabling_light.jpg" width="100" height="84" alt=""></td>
  <td>
 	 <img src="images/security_light.jpg" width="100" height="84" alt=""></td>
  <td>
 	 <img src="images/mobile_dark.jpg" width="102" height="84" alt=""></td>
  <td>
 	 <img src="images/mobile_07.jpg" width="27" height="84" alt=""></td>
	</tr>
	<tr>
  <td height="179" colspan="3">
 	 <img src="images/mobile_08.jpg" width="431" height="179" alt=""></td>
  <td colspan="4">
 	 <img src="images/mobile_09.jpg" width="329" height="179" alt=""></td>
	</tr>
	<tr valign="top">
  <td colspan="7"><table width="98%"  border="0" align="center" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0">
          <tr>
            <td>

thats the top, yes i know its only half a webpage.
http://www.ask4techn...orking/top.html

then i took the bottom part which is this.
</td>
          </tr>
        </table></td>
  </tr>
</table>
</body>
</html>

thats the bottom
http://www.ask4techn...ing/bottom.html

now i have this as the page i want.
<? include('top.html'); ?>
<? include('/specs/siemens_ct66.txt'); ?>
<? include('bottom.html'); ?>


now in all theory this should work right? it should be the same if it was one page that looked like this:
<html>
<head>
<title>LandLine Communitcations Inc.</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">
<table width="760" height="301" border="0" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" id="Table_01">
	<tr>
  <td height="84">
 	 <img src="images/mobile_01.jpg" width="229" height="84" alt=""></td>
  <td>
 	 <img src="images/about_light.jpg" width="101" height="84" alt=""></td>
  <td>
 	 <img src="images/phones_light.jpg" width="101" height="84" alt=""></td>
  <td>
 	 <img src="images/cabling_light.jpg" width="100" height="84" alt=""></td>
  <td>
 	 <img src="images/security_light.jpg" width="100" height="84" alt=""></td>
  <td>
 	 <img src="images/mobile_dark.jpg" width="102" height="84" alt=""></td>
  <td>
 	 <img src="images/mobile_07.jpg" width="27" height="84" alt=""></td>
	</tr>
	<tr>
  <td height="179" colspan="3">
 	 <img src="images/mobile_08.jpg" width="431" height="179" alt=""></td>
  <td colspan="4">
 	 <img src="images/mobile_09.jpg" width="329" height="179" alt=""></td>
	</tr>
	<tr valign="top">
  <td colspan="7"><table width="98%"  border="0" align="center" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0">
          <tr>
            <td><? include('/specs/siemens_ct66'); ?></td>
          </tr>
        </table></td>
  </tr>
</table>
</body>
</html>

correct?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: ummm error...

#2 supersloth  Icon User is offline

  • serial frotteur - RUDEST MEMBER ON D.I.C.
  • member icon


Reputation: 4513
  • View blog
  • Posts: 28,416
  • Joined: 21-March 01

Re: ummm error...

Posted 31 March 2005 - 12:32 PM

i havent worked with php in a while so cyberscribe might want to correct me but i think it might be that your including .html instead of .php

also is your main page a .php page? cause you can't do php includes from a .html i know that much.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 iamcenz  Icon User is offline

  • You wish you were my hand!
  • member icon

Reputation: 7
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,442
  • Joined: 26-March 01

Re: ummm error...

Posted 31 March 2005 - 12:36 PM

yeah its a php file. the main page, ill try to make the .html files php. if that dont work, ill try to make them txt files.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 iamcenz  Icon User is offline

  • You wish you were my hand!
  • member icon

Reputation: 7
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,442
  • Joined: 26-March 01

Re: ummm error...

Posted 31 March 2005 - 12:52 PM

ok, i figured out the problem on the testing server, php isnt on it! so i loved it to my site. http://www.bluntedby...line/mobile.php
now im getting this error.

Quote

Warning: main(): Unable to access /specs/cingular/siemens_ct66.txt in /home/virtual/site19/fst/var/www/html/landline/mobile.php on line 2

Warning: main(/specs/cingular/siemens_ct66.txt): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/virtual/site19/fst/var/www/html/landline/mobile.php on line 2

Warning: main(): Unable to access /specs/cingular/siemens_ct66.txt in /home/virtual/site19/fst/var/www/html/landline/mobile.php on line 2

Warning: main(/specs/cingular/siemens_ct66.txt): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/virtual/site19/fst/var/www/html/landline/mobile.php on line 2

Warning: main(): Failed opening '/specs/cingular/siemens_ct66.txt' for inclusion (include_path='.:/php/includes:/usr/share/php') in /home/virtual/site19/fst/var/www/html/landline/mobile.php on line 2


but that file is there http://www.bluntedby...iemens_ct66.txt




ok... fixed it. i has to remove the '/' before specs. now its not being formatted properly, i can do a string replacement and replace /n to <br> right? thats would make it so thats it formats like this
Spec
Spec
Spec

instead of Spec Spec Spec

This post has been edited by iamcenz: 31 March 2005 - 12:57 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 cyberscribe  Icon User is offline

  • humble.genius
  • member icon

Reputation: 10
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,062
  • Joined: 05-May 02

Re: ummm error...

Posted 31 March 2005 - 07:48 PM

iamcenz, on Mar 31 2005, 12:52 PM, said:

i can do a string replacement and replace /n to <br> right?

Even better, you can use nl2br. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 iamcenz  Icon User is offline

  • You wish you were my hand!
  • member icon

Reputation: 7
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,442
  • Joined: 26-March 01

Re: ummm error...

Posted 01 April 2005 - 08:39 AM

ok say i have a whole bunch of text from a txt file that i bring into MySQL. (just copy and paste into it via phpmyadmin) now i would do nl2br($specs); but will it still know the /n or no? im sorta new to all this, i did stuff like this like 4 years ago like 1 time and then havent tried it since, now i dont know what the hell im doing... :(

This post has been edited by iamcenz: 01 April 2005 - 08:39 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 iamcenz  Icon User is offline

  • You wish you were my hand!
  • member icon

Reputation: 7
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,442
  • Joined: 26-March 01

Re: ummm error...

Posted 01 April 2005 - 10:49 AM

im replying to myself alot... i got the nl2br() thing working. WORKS GREAT! now here is my next thing... 3 pages. the top thingy part/the main content part/ and the bottom. now i set up a style sheet. with this as a style:
.content {
font-family:Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
font-size:10px;
color:#000000;
}

in dreamweaver it shows that it changes font, but on the site its still 12px it changed from times to Verdana, but the size wont change... any ready why? could it be cause its an included page? im trying to do this to the middle page, the content page..

oh this is in both netscape (firefox 1.0.2 (the newest one) and IE6)

This post has been edited by iamcenz: 01 April 2005 - 10:50 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1