[YUI] The column header width and cell widths differ in IE

Column header widths differ to the column width in IE when the Scrolli

Page 1 of 1

1 Replies - 2413 Views - Last Post: 01 June 2009 - 07:58 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

[YUI] The column header width and cell widths differ in IE

Post icon  Posted 01 June 2009 - 12:28 AM

The project I'm currently working on uses the Yahoo User Interface Library. The YUI datatable was used to display records stored in a database. I tried switching it from the datatable to ScrollingDataTable in order to add a vertical scrolling feature. It worked out well in firefox but when I checked on IE6, the cell widths and the table column header widths were different. After doing some looking up I just tried adding:
YAHOO.widget.DataTable._bStylesheetFallback = !!YAHOO.env.ua.ie;

but the outcome was still the same.

Why does this happen? Is there a way to fix it?

P. S. -
  • I'm a complete newbie to YUI. This is the first time I'm ever working with it so please excuse me if i ask something that may sound absurd or obvious
  • I'm using Fedora Core 10 as my operating system along with Tomcat 6 (Just in case these are necessary :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: [YUI] The column header width and cell widths differ in IE

• Tired.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: [YUI] The column header width and cell widths differ in IE

Posted 01 June 2009 - 07:58 AM

To be honest - I have NO clue about the Yahoo User Interface Library - but - the issue with IE6 is the bain of a developer's existence. IE6 renders paddings and margins (among other things - but this is the most common issue) completely different from FF, Opera, Safari, even IE7 and IE8.

What you do is use - conditional comments - this allows you to set different stylesheets for various IE browsers. IE is the only browser that WILL recognize this code structure.