6 Replies - 1500 Views - Last Post: 26 June 2009 - 02:29 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How long is it going to take?

Post icon  Posted 03 June 2009 - 12:22 AM

Hi

I have never done progamming before. This is all new to me. In my current role as an implementation consultant i do a little bit of SQL querying but not hugely.

Then i decided at the beginning of the year i wanted to learn programming seriously. So i did a 5 day microsoft intro course in vb.net (as thats what our new software is being upgraded to) but i found it was so full of gaps and was confused as hell. i then bought Simply Visual Basic 2008 and how to program visual basic 2008. It all makes alot more sense now and am really enjoying it. It does take a while to complete the excercises though especially for a newbie like me and considering its my first language ever.

I want to eventually get my mcts in asp.net and my mcts in SQL 2008.. Now my question is how long will it be before i am able to do this, ie be fluent in VB so i can sit my exams. My goal was to write these 4 exams by the end of this year but since i am doing it self study and making sure i do not miss the excercises in the book its taking me a lot longer than i thought. Am i being unrealistic with my goal? As all our developers are in Australia i dont have anyone to help me if i get stuck, and thank god i found this website, its brilliant!!

Any feedback would be much appreciated as my brain already feels exhausted trying to learn as much as i can as fast as i can..

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: How long is it going to take?

• using Caffeine;
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How long is it going to take?

Posted 03 June 2009 - 02:29 AM