Page 1 of 1

5 Replies - 1185 Views - Last Post: 06 June 2009 - 12:36 AM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Splash pages and SEO

Posted 04 June 2009 - 11:32 PM

Hey,

Back again. My site is getting closer to finish, and now that im starting an SEO training course that i grabbed online to do some seo work on my own, some questions arise.

my partner for the site proposed early on that a splash page is the way to go. (myweddingisover.com) Beside some need for crisper text, it looks alright.

But like ive been saying for past 6 months, i think the loading, first of all, along with no real content being on it will hurt our traffic and seo. while not flash and still able to use meta tags n such, is my partners argument for "branding" enough to keep it?

lemme know please, im trying to talk him out of it, esp once the site goes live.

Bryan

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Splash pages and SEO

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Splash pages and SEO

Posted 05 June 2009 - 12:14 AM

Just a word of warning, as advised from Gabehabe: Splash pages are old and is not that popular nowadays. But, its really up to you.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• GabehabeSwamp
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 05 June 2009 - 03:18 AM

Hmm, a few points.

From an SEO perspective, there's not much content on there. Granted, spiders will crawl the whole site through all your links, but it's a good idea to get some good content on that front page - it's the most important, IMO. (I could be wrong)

Also, a more personal note I suppose, but I hate them. And you'll find that a lot of people hate them. They're kinda "out of fashion" now.

Honestly, I'm not a huge fan of your splash screen. It would be better as a logo or something, rather than stretching it to fit a window as a splash screen.

This is mostly a matter of opinion, but most people I meet share
1) splash screens look unprofessional
2) users like to get to the content straight away