Need advice on moving to a second language

Page 1 of 1

14 Replies - 796 Views - Last Post: 22 June 2009 - 01:16 PM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Moving On...

Post icon  Posted 10 June 2009 - 06:15 PM

Hello, I'm currently in the state between High School and College trying my best to prepare ahead of time, and now I'm having trouble starting a new language. I've been programming with Python 3 for the last 5 to 6 months, and would like to move on to C++. I obviously don't want to take the long route and start from the begining of starting to program, so:

1. How do you best start learning a new language?
2. How do you know where to start?

(I did start with C++, but got nowhere fast, so I moved to Python, and I'm now capable of doing a decent program with Python)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Moving On...

• Garbage Collector

• View blog

Re: Moving On...

Posted 10 June 2009 - 06:31 PM

I'd say if you are just starting college, then C++ is definitely a good thing to learn. You may want to look into learning some Java too though, seems like a lot of schools like to start off with that.

Anyway, I'm not overly good at any language, but I'd say the best way to learn on your own is by doing tutorials. There's tons of tutorials on the web, so you'll have no problem finding any. Simply go to Google and type in "(insert language) beginners tutorials".

Go through a few tutorials, you know.. get the basics down. Now you'll have a basic understand of the syntax and will be a step ahead when you are taught it in college. Other things I could recommend are buying books about languages.

Best thing though, just practice! Look at other people's source codes, modify them into your own. Anything to get you hands on experience with the language.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 11 June 2009 - 03:40 AM