My first week as a Software Engineer

• (2 Pages)
  • +

24 Replies - 7314 Views - Last Post: 25 July 2009 - 04:56 PM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

My first week as a Software Engineer

Post icon  Posted 12 June 2009 - 10:46 AM

Well this was my first week as a software engineer at a company. Just graduated College and now I am out in the real world. I am a contractor so I will only be that this company that I was assigned for about a year.

One of the things I don't like is that I get assigned something to do, they tell me what they want (even they don't know) and I do the work. Questions arise and then they have a meeting to see what they need and either I change what i wrote or I implement more functionality. I must say. I can see this job being stressful.

Anyone here a contractor/software engineer/developer that can shine some light on me? I would like to know how my life will be in the next 5 years. LOL or get an idea.

Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1

Replies To: My first week as a Software Engineer

• holy shitin shishkebobs
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: My first week as a Software Engineer

Posted 12 June 2009 - 11:59 AM

Honestly? Brace yourself for huge amounts of stress.

I work full-time for a company and do freelance/sub-contract work on the side. Whether in my regular office or on a side project, the stress is always there.

Most people know very little about computers - and even less about programming - they hear that you are a programmer and you are suddenly viewed as god. It is often assumed that because you know how to do one thing, you automatically know how to do everything else. And if you can do one thing quickly, you should be able to everything else just as quickly.

It can be a very stressful environment.... hell, I didn't have hypertension until I started getting paid for code.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• Google.Sucks.Init(true);
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 12 June 2009 - 12:07 PM