Apache Web Server with a Westell Modem/Router?

New modem/router is proving difficult to configure for web server use

Page 1 of 1

12 Replies - 4202 Views - Last Post: 16 June 2009 - 05:49 PM

#1 SpiderSpartan  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 14
  • View blog
  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: 06-February 08

Apache Web Server with a Westell Modem/Router?

Post icon  Posted 13 June 2009 - 11:11 AM

I've tried searching the net and had no luck so far. I just switched ISPs and my new service came with a fancy Westell A90-9100VM60-10 Modem/Router. I've disabled remote administration and enabled port forwarding on port 80 to the PC with the Apache server running. For some reason entering in my external IP address still just takes me to the Westell config page instead of the web server. Can anyone help me out here? I've tried everything I can think of. Thanks.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Apache Web Server with a Westell Modem/Router?

#2 tommyflint  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 34
  • View blog
  • Posts: 679
  • Joined: 24-July 08

Re: Apache Web Server with a Westell Modem/Router?

Posted 13 June 2009 - 05:26 PM

trying typing http://external_ip
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 SpiderSpartan  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 14
  • View blog
  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: 06-February 08

Re: Apache Web Server with a Westell Modem/Router?

Posted 14 June 2009 - 12:37 AM

That's what I'm trying to figure out. When I enter http://external_ip it takes me to the modem/router configuration page, instead of my apache web server, even though I've disabled remote administration and enable port forwarding for port 80 to the computer with the Apache server set up. Thanks again for any help or suggestions.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5347
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,303
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Apache Web Server with a Westell Modem/Router?

Posted 14 June 2009 - 12:40 AM

oops, that's you on another forum :P

Can you load your webserver from local host?
Can you load your webserver from the local non-routable IP?

If both of those are yes, then the router is still answering all of the port 80 requests on the routable (external) address, even though you've disabled the external option (that you said).

One other idea, in your httpd.conf, did you alter Apache to the new setup? Is Apache listening to the correct IP address?

** Edited for accuracy **
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 SpiderSpartan  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 14
  • View blog
  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: 06-February 08

Re: Apache Web Server with a Westell Modem/Router?

Posted 14 June 2009 - 11:38 AM

Thank you so much for your responses.

Local host and the local IP take me to the web server.

As far as the Apache configurations, I am by no means an expert in that field. I just set up the server using the Lifehacker Tutorial. The config file does say "Listen 80" though.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 tommyflint  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 34
  • View blog
  • Posts: 679
  • Joined: 24-July 08

Re: Apache Web Server with a Westell Modem/Router?

Posted 14 June 2009 - 12:10 PM

There Server IP is set to static right?

tommyflint
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 SpiderSpartan  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 14
  • View blog
  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: 06-February 08

Re: Apache Web Server with a Westell Modem/Router?

Posted 14 June 2009 - 01:40 PM

View Posttommyflint, on 14 Jun, 2009 - 11:10 AM, said:

There Server IP is set to static right?

tommyflint


I'm not sure if it's static, but it hasn't changed since the service started and I'm using dyndns.com. I'm pretty sure I've got the Westell set do update dyndns too.
Thanks.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 tommyflint  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 34
  • View blog
  • Posts: 679
  • Joined: 24-July 08

Re: Apache Web Server with a Westell Modem/Router?

Posted 14 June 2009 - 02:10 PM

Have you checked the IP to see if port 80 is defiantly open?
If you want you can PM me or leave the IP here and i will check

tommyflint
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 SpiderSpartan  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 14
  • View blog
  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: 06-February 08

Re: Apache Web Server with a Westell Modem/Router?

Posted 15 June 2009 - 07:50 AM

View Posttommyflint, on 14 Jun, 2009 - 01:10 PM, said:

Have you checked the IP to see if port 80 is defiantly open?
If you want you can PM me or leave the IP here and i will check

tommyflint


I've tested port 80 on these sites and they all timed out.

http://www.dyndns.co...s/openport.html

http://www.whatsmyip.org/ports/

http://www.canyouseeme.org/

I'm starting to think that my ISP blocks port 80. If that's the case, is there any other options? Thanks again.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5347
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,303
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Apache Web Server with a Westell Modem/Router?

Posted 15 June 2009 - 05:56 PM

View PostSpiderSpartan, on 15 Jun, 2009 - 08:50 AM, said:

I'm starting to think that my ISP blocks port 80. If that's the case, is there any other options? Thanks again.

Call them & check on their Terms of Service. If they do in fact block port 80 you can either rent rack space, setup hosting with a webhost, or sign up with the business/commercial packaged offered by your ISP.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 born2c0de  Icon User is offline

  • printf("I'm a %XR",195936478);
  • member icon

Reputation: 180
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,667
  • Joined: 26-November 04

Re: Apache Web Server with a Westell Modem/Router?

Posted 16 June 2009 - 04:26 AM

Enable DMZ on your router and it should work.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#12 tommyflint  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 34
  • View blog
  • Posts: 679
  • Joined: 24-July 08

Re: Apache Web Server with a Westell Modem/Router?

Posted 16 June 2009 - 12:25 PM

Spider Spartan I think i have found the problem, I forgot to ask but are you trying to access the server using the external ip from inside the LAN?

tommyflint
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 SpiderSpartan  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 14
  • View blog
  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: 06-February 08

Re: Apache Web Server with a Westell Modem/Router?

Posted 16 June 2009 - 05:49 PM

OK, setting up the DMZ looks like that got it working. I thought I had done that when my friend was trying to access the page from outside the network, but I guess not.

I did try entering in the external ip from inside the lan at first. Is there a standard setting that will stop it from taking you to the router config when you do that?

Also can anyone give a brief explanation of DHCP Relay for dummies? If I turned that on and then plugged another router into the Westell would the second router basically get the external ip?

Thanks for all the help guys. :D
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1