3 Replies - 1128 Views - Last Post: 13 June 2009 - 07:56 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Learning Programming

Post icon  Posted 13 June 2009 - 02:33 PM

Hello,

I'm a new member here. I have some basic knowledge of programming but I was in pursuing a teaching career and so have been out of touch with programming for almost 8 years. Finally having made up my mind to switch careers, I started working as a Software QA Tester and in my spare time started dabbling with C# to figure out writing some automation tests.

I'm finding programming quite interesting, especially the logical and intelligence demanding aspect of it and I do want to become a deveoper. Since I'm living in a small retirement town it's proving somewhat of a challenge getting information and inputs on how to go about learning programming and so I would appreciate any pointers regarding the same. Here are some formulated questions:

- Any thoughts on what is a good way to become proficient in programming?

- Every now and then I keep hearning people have moved to the software field by taking some classes. Has anyone here taken any training classes that's been helpful? The community college in my town doesn't offer anything I haven't already studied :-( . So the only thing possible is to pursue either online classes or probably a crash course in another town. Any experiences or thoughts on training classes? And if so then would you like to suggest some good training centers?

- I've gotten many suggestion to just start hands-on self-learning. The only glitch with that is how to define the context as to what and how much to learn. I would love to actually work on a hands-on project just in order to learn. Is there any training center or course that incorporates creating a project as a part of the training? Or are there websites where I can find such a project?

- A list of good books and websites?

- If you wish, plz feel free to share what's helped you in your learning curve.