My website

portfolio?

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

20 Replies - 1843 Views - Last Post: 20 June 2009 - 03:54 AM

#1 megglz  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 11
  • View blog
  • Posts: 414
  • Joined: 22-August 08

My website

Posted 15 June 2009 - 08:07 AM

Hey guys,

This is my site http://www.meganos.com

I've just finished my second year of Computer Science. I had a job last summer in web development. I'm just wondering would my site already classify as a portfolio somewhat, or have you any ideas of what else I could put on there? In university I have studied MySQL, PHP, Java, C , XHTML and CSS. On http://www.meganos.com/photo.php I have made the image fader from javascript.

Thanks for any ideas :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: My website

#2 RudiVisser  Icon User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1003
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,562
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: My website

Posted 15 June 2009 - 08:10 AM

Yay you got it online, looks pretty :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 megglz  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 11
  • View blog
  • Posts: 414
  • Joined: 22-August 08

Re: My website

Posted 15 June 2009 - 08:13 AM

Yus :D It does, thanks for your help :D
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 jjsaw5  Icon User is offline

  • I must break you
  • member icon

Reputation: 90
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,060
  • Joined: 04-January 08

Re: My website

Posted 15 June 2009 - 08:22 AM

If you would like your site to be somewhat like a portfolio, i would have a page that includes some of the work you have done. For example any sites you have created for people, include a link to it.

Have your classes you have taken, what you major is, and any other information you feel would be good for a future client/employer would find useful.

***Just a suggestion*** If you are looking for this site to be something like a portfolio I would go with a more professional look, not that your site it bad or anything I like it a lot. But just a suggestion if you are trying to use it for clients/employers.


Hope that helps.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#5 megglz  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 11
  • View blog
  • Posts: 414
  • Joined: 22-August 08

Re: My website

Posted 15 June 2009 - 08:39 AM

I have worked on a few sites last summer but not wholly by myself so I dont know whether I shoud have links to them. I no longer work for the company that designed them either.

I have college assignments I could link to?

This post has been edited by irishgirl: 15 June 2009 - 08:39 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 noorahmad  Icon User is offline

  • Untitled
  • member icon

Reputation: 209
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,290
  • Joined: 12-March 09

Re: My website

Posted 15 June 2009 - 11:32 PM

your site looks very good, but if you change the back color to light black it will look better, i am developing website science <3 years, most of peoples are not liking black color. << Just a Suggestion
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 firebolt  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 92
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,561
  • Joined: 20-February 09

Re: My website

Posted 15 June 2009 - 11:39 PM

Try centering things and also frame the content. It'll look better and the user will know where to look.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#8 noorahmad  Icon User is offline

  • Untitled
  • member icon

Reputation: 209
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,290
  • Joined: 12-March 09

Re: My website

Posted 15 June 2009 - 11:42 PM

Quote

Try centering things and also frame the content. It'll look better and the user will know where to look.

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#9 tommyflint  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 34
  • View blog
  • Posts: 679
  • Joined: 24-July 08

Re: My website

Posted 16 June 2009 - 03:02 AM

I was thinking that maybe more of a purple colour would work as a background something like: #302233 :)

tommyflint
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 megglz  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 11
  • View blog
  • Posts: 414
  • Joined: 22-August 08

Re: My website

Posted 16 June 2009 - 01:12 PM

View Posttommyflint, on 16 Jun, 2009 - 10:02 AM, said:

I was thinking that maybe more of a purple colour would work as a background something like: #302233 :)

tommyflint



That color code doesnt seem to work for me? :S

I have put a border around content now
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 tommyflint  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 34
  • View blog
  • Posts: 679
  • Joined: 24-July 08

Re: My website

Posted 16 June 2009 - 03:16 PM

Ohh... i see you havent changed it tho ;) lol
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#12 noorahmad  Icon User is offline

  • Untitled
  • member icon

Reputation: 209
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,290
  • Joined: 12-March 09

Re: My website

Posted 16 June 2009 - 09:55 PM

now your site look good.
the sub menu should come a bit down and also change it's color.

This post has been edited by noorahmad: 20 June 2009 - 03:00 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#13 megglz  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 11
  • View blog
  • Posts: 414
  • Joined: 22-August 08

Re: My website

Posted 17 June 2009 - 03:37 AM

What do you think now? If anyone can recommend better colors again that would be nice :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 noorahmad  Icon User is offline

  • Untitled
  • member icon

Reputation: 209
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,290
  • Joined: 12-March 09

Re: My website

Posted 17 June 2009 - 05:05 AM

try to fix width of sub menu it less then the parent menu.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 SixOfEleven  Icon User is offline

  • using Caffeine;
  • member icon

Reputation: 945
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6,342
  • Joined: 18-October 08

Re: My website

Posted 18 June 2009 - 08:55 PM

I'm having a problem with your site in IE-7. I can't get to the sub-menu for computer science. It is popping up but when I leave the computer science part it disappears. I don't know if you are working on it at the moment, just thought I would let you know. :)

*edit*
The sub-menu isn't really aligned well either. This all might be an IE thing.

This post has been edited by SixOfEleven: 18 June 2009 - 08:56 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2