4 Replies - 807 Views - Last Post: 23 June 2009 - 10:15 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Education and Careers

Posted 19 June 2009 - 08:13 PM

Firstly Iíd like to say itís late and Iím quite tired, so sorry for the following ramble and bad grammar.

Some background:
Iím currently very young, 14 that is. I started programming probably around 3 years ago by now, Itís been quite the road and as I sit here writing I donít know where to start. Somehow I got all the way from aspiring to make the next mmorpg in Java, to very strongly studying the language of PHP and freelancing web design. Of course there were languages in between that, C, C++ and a bunch of others.

Now, to the main subject: Education and Career Paths.

I hope to have a very bright future. Iím currently in the top tenth percentile in my graduating class, have some of the highest standards scores in the state and breeze by with a 3.75+. I already have quite the portfolio under my belt already and am actually very social. I really donít know much about what colleges there are for the programming industry, or what would benefit me the most. What are some recommendations? What are each known for?
Of course at this age I donít have a very specific career path I want to follow, there are just so many. The main things Iím looking for is an active career, one that would provide me very well financially, and one that wouldnít be wasteful as to my potential.

One of the main problems I have is, should I really try to pursue a full time job programming? Or should I follow some other ambition and keep programming as a side job? What would be more stable? Which would provide better jobs and money? What are the benefits of programming full time? What are the downsides of it?
How could staying with web development benefit me? What could I do to better my potentials?

What are some careers I should look into? What are some colleges I should look into?