Copying Access Database field to Textbox

Trying to copy database field to textbox without ussing databindings.

Page 1 of 1

0 Replies - 1067 Views - Last Post: 25 June 2009 - 12:18 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Copying Access Database field to Textbox

Posted 25 June 2009 - 12:18 AM

Sorry if this question (and answer) have been posted before, but I've looked all over and cannot seem to find anything to help in this matter. I am new to 2008, although I've been using VB.Net for about 4 years or so at this point (always 2005). I remember being able to do this with 2005, but that method does not seem to work anymore...

Ok, so here is the deal. I am writing a program that has several textboxes (Date/Time, Building, Address, Apartment, Visitor, etc.) , a button, a datagrid view, 4 databases (Residents, BuildingInfo, Prohibited, and ResidentProhibited). What is supposed to happen is this: The forms loads, txtAPT has the focus, data is entered, and then focus is shifted to txtVisitor. When txtAPT looses focus, txtBuilding, and txtAddress are all supposed to be filled in with information from the appropriate database.

Essentially, txtBuilding and txtAddress are supposed to blank to begin with. txtAPT looses focus, the BuildingInfo database gets queried and returnes results similar to this: Count, Building, Address, Apartment. The query works perfectly fine and returns one result, however, I cannot figure out how to get the information in the Building and Address fields to copy to their respective locations.