2 Replies - 343 Views - Last Post: 30 June 2009 - 10:49 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Hi Everyone!

Post icon  Posted 30 June 2009 - 08:15 AM

Hi Everyone my name is Dara. I really feel a little out of place on this site because I am truly a novice. My background is marketing, but I have recently put my two loves of entrepreneurship and marketing together in a web based business I am in the process of creating. The problem for me has been my lack of knowledge in the Programming, Web Design, MySQL, and everything else in the computer world that I need to know. I am reading and studying quit a bit hoping that it will stick. I have joined dream.in.code to learn from the experts in the fields I know I need assistance.

In reviewing the site I feel the sense of community, and am excited about learning and hopefully sharing (one day) the knowledge I have learned.

What I have been trying to accomplish:

1. A database driven website. I have MySQL admin program through my hosting company. I have never used MySQL so I am trying to learn everything I possibly can. I have purchased video tutorials, and researched tutorials online. I need to be able to create a database that I can include 39 categories for users to choose from, and also 15-25 options within the category that they can select from prior to the results showing on the webpage. I was able to create the form I wanted to use through access, but am having a difficult time importing into the MySQL database. Also, have no idea how to recreate it in MySQL.
2. Also, I need to be able to create a template based form that I can create ads. That includes background, graphic, bullet points, and hyperlink. This has been the most difficult in my research because I have no idea what this type of application is called in the industry. If I research templates or ad development my results are all pre-made ads.