10 Replies - 3386 Views - Last Post: 09 August 2009 - 08:18 AM

• using System.Linq;
  • member icon

• View blog

[Programming Languages/Technology] Learning Curve

Post icon  Posted 01 July 2009 - 10:41 AM

All the time developers have to learn new technologies. This is a permanent process that nobody can stop - only adapt to it. As you see, the programming languages and techniques are updated almost weekly. New languages arise while others disappear and are forgotten.

Still, we all have to update our knowledge according to the new developments. How easy is for you guys, developers or future developers, to understand the new concepts and apply the new knowledge? How long does it take you to learn a new programming language or technology, for example?

From my own experience I can say that I always easily grasped the new concepts. When I started programming I got into it pretty easy and now when it comes to new programming languages or computer technologies, it takes me probably 2 or 3 weeks to learn the main concepts and fundamentals and then it goes fairly fast into advanced classes and libraries.

What about you?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: [Programming Languages/Technology] Learning Curve

• Google.Sucks.Init(true);
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: [Programming Languages/Technology] Learning Curve

Posted 01 July 2009 - 10:47 AM

Fortunately for developers, at least in my experience, once you have a firm grasp of the concepts of a language (or programming in general) it's relatively easy to learn new things. Languages may change but the core concepts haven't changed all that much over the years.