5 Replies - 1744 Views - Last Post: 30 May 2005 - 01:54 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 thearchitect2  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 28-May 05

Applet needs JRE, some don't, why?

Posted 28 May 2005 - 09:41 AM

I made a Tetris applet, but it requries JRE to be installed when some applets do not. Why is this? My applet is here: Tetrix
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Applet needs JRE, some don't, why?

#2 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1877
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,284
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: Applet needs JRE, some don't, why?

Posted 28 May 2005 - 09:44 AM

I'm not a java expert, but I would imagine that depending on which JRE you have installed, you may have to install a newer JRE version. We have several applications at work that I know they tear their hair out having to uninstall, reinstall, upgrade JRE versions just to get crap to work.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 cyberscribe  Icon User is offline

  • humble.genius
  • member icon

Reputation: 10
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,062
  • Joined: 05-May 02

Re: Applet needs JRE, some don't, why?

Posted 29 May 2005 - 12:51 AM

So much for write once run anywhere. Welcome to the real world of cross-platform, kid. It ain't pretty.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 thearchitect2  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 28-May 05

Re: Applet needs JRE, some don't, why?

Posted 29 May 2005 - 09:05 AM

Thanks much guys for the help. Does some version of JRE come with Windows or why would some applets work on my school computers before I installed the latest version of JRE?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 cyberscribe  Icon User is offline

  • humble.genius
  • member icon

Reputation: 10
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,062
  • Joined: 05-May 02

Re: Applet needs JRE, some don't, why?

Posted 29 May 2005 - 11:26 AM

Since Sun sued Windows, XP does not come with a JRE. You can download it from:

http://java.com/
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 thearchitect2  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 28-May 05

Re: Applet needs JRE, some don't, why?

Posted 30 May 2005 - 01:54 PM

Sorry, one more question, haha. I know where to get Java from and stuff like that, but I didn't know that Sun sued Microsoft. Did earlier versions, like Windows 98, come with JRE? That might be why at least some applets work on the computers at my school, because most of them have Windows 98. Otherwise, how could any of them work at all? Again, thanks much for the help.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1