Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

the case of the vanishing div (Screen shots included)

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

17 Replies - 1542 Views - Last Post: 06 July 2009 - 11:41 AM

#1 Torroes_prime  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 111
  • Joined: 07-June 09

Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

Post icon  Posted 02 July 2009 - 10:00 AM

OKay, So I'm making this website and for compatability sake I have Opera, Safari, IE, FireFox and Chrome all loaded. That way I can check my site in all the browsers. So I make the first page with the layout and all the major sections and everything and I go to check it: Firefox, Opera, Chrome and Safari all show up just fine no problems what so ever. I go to check it in Internet Explorer.... An entire DIV is not showing up......!

Here it is in Fire Fox (The Footer div shows up just fine....
Posted Image



And then here it is in Internet Explorer (Um, dude wheres my foot?)
Posted Image

I'm kinda at a lose on this one. I've never encountered a case where an element that is used multiple times in the same page only fails to show up in one browser like this.


What gives?

Here's the link to the webpage:
Outriders Villian Group

and here's the link to CSS:
The CSS File

This post has been edited by Torroes_prime: 02 July 2009 - 10:01 AM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

#2 RudiVisser  Icon User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1004
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,562
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

Posted 02 July 2009 - 10:12 AM

Nothing to do with IE, you told it to render in Quirks mode :)

Your document starts like this:
<html>
<head>


Get yourself a Doctype, not sure which you'd want to use, as it's kindof a mix between XHTML and HTML.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Torroes_prime  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 111
  • Joined: 07-June 09

Re: Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

Posted 02 July 2009 - 11:03 AM

View PostMageUK, on 2 Jul, 2009 - 09:12 AM, said:

Nothing to do with IE, you told it to render in Quirks mode :)

Your document starts like this:
<html>
<head>


Get yourself a Doctype, not sure which you'd want to use, as it's kindof a mix between XHTML and HTML.



I'm gonna assume everything you just said and I didn't understand has to do with the fact that I didn't get to take the Web Design 1 like I had planned this summer (stupid school canceling the class 24 hours before it was supposed to start)

My (admittidly limited) knowledge comes from 5 tutorials I flipped through in Introduction to Computer Concepts last semester. The Tutorials went from basic xhtml up to Tables in xhtml. They never mentioned anything about Doctype or "quirks' mode. Care to explain or point me in a direction that I can read about them?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 RudiVisser  Icon User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1004
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,562
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

Posted 02 July 2009 - 11:11 AM

Well, any XHTML Tutorial should have told you that every HTML Document requires a Doctype.

Stick this at the top of your page:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">


Quirks mode is, let's say, a backwards compatible rendering engine. It enables "Quirks" in certain browsers, to replicate the "quirks" of older browsers (namely IE4,5,6).

You don't need to read up much on it, since you won't be using it :)

Also XHTML Tutorials should have told you that all of the tags are lowercase, so <script LANGUAGE is invalid, so is the language attribute of your script tag... The start of your document correctly formed would look like this:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">
<title>Welcome to the Outriders!</title>
<link href="outriders.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

<script type="text/javascript">
var theImages = new Array() 
theImages[0] = 'outriders(splash)-001.jpg'
theImages[1] = 'outriders(splash)-002.jpg'
theImages[2] = 'outriders(splash)-003.jpg'
theImages[3] = 'outriders(splash)-004.jpg'
theImages[4] = 'outriders(splash)-005.jpg'
theImages[5] = 'outriders(splash)-006.jpg'
theImages[6] = 'outriders(splash)-007.jpg'
theImages[7] = 'outriders(splash)-008.jpg'
theImages[8] = 'outriders(splash)-009.jpg'
var j = 0
var p = theImages.length;
var preBuffer = new Array()
for (i = 0; i < p; i++){
   preBuffer[i] = new Image()
   preBuffer[i].src = theImages[i]
}
var whichImage = Math.round(Math.random()*(p-1));
function showImage(){
document.write('<img src="'+theImages[whichImage]+'">');
}
</script>
</head>



You should also move the background color of your body into CSS, like this:
body {
	background-color: #00000;
}

Then you can remove the bgcolor="#000000" from it.

Hope that helps you understand a bit.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Torroes_prime  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 111
  • Joined: 07-June 09

Re: Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

Posted 02 July 2009 - 12:26 PM

View PostMageUK, on 2 Jul, 2009 - 10:11 AM, said:

Well, any XHTML Tutorial should have told you that every HTML Document requires a Doctype.


Hmmm... donno what to say. I made over 2 dozen webpages out of those tutorials and never had an issue nor a mention of Doctype.

Quote

Stick this at the top of your page:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">


Quirks mode is, let's say, a backwards compatible rendering engine. It enables "Quirks" in certain browsers, to replicate the "quirks" of older browsers (namely IE4,5,6).

You don't need to read up much on it, since you won't be using it :)

Also XHTML Tutorials should have told you that all of the tags are lowercase, so <script LANGUAGE is invalid, so is the language attribute of your script tag... The start of your document correctly formed would look like this:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">
<title>Welcome to the Outriders!</title>
<link href="outriders.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

<script type="text/javascript">
var theImages = new Array() 
theImages[0] = 'outriders(splash)-001.jpg'
theImages[1] = 'outriders(splash)-002.jpg'
theImages[2] = 'outriders(splash)-003.jpg'
theImages[3] = 'outriders(splash)-004.jpg'
theImages[4] = 'outriders(splash)-005.jpg'
theImages[5] = 'outriders(splash)-006.jpg'
theImages[6] = 'outriders(splash)-007.jpg'
theImages[7] = 'outriders(splash)-008.jpg'
theImages[8] = 'outriders(splash)-009.jpg'
var j = 0
var p = theImages.length;
var preBuffer = new Array()
for (i = 0; i < p; i++){
   preBuffer[i] = new Image()
   preBuffer[i].src = theImages[i]
}
var whichImage = Math.round(Math.random()*(p-1));
function showImage(){
document.write('<img src="'+theImages[whichImage]+'">');
}
</script>
</head>



Chances are we'll cover this when I get to actually take the class, but curiosity question:

originally I had
<script language="javascript">


and my Java script worked just fine

Just to see what would change, I swapped it for the:
<script type="text/javascript">


you recommended. I didn't notice any difference. Script still worked just fine, nothing changed on the page.

What's the difference?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 RudiVisser  Icon User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1004
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,562
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

Posted 02 July 2009 - 12:38 PM

It's standards compliant, it won't change operation :)

But it should really tell you about Doctypes, what tutorials are you using?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Quin  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 19
  • View blog
  • Posts: 383
  • Joined: 16-October 08

Re: Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

Posted 02 July 2009 - 12:56 PM

'min-height' doesn't work with IE, nor does 'min-width'.

You ought to indent your coding, makes it easier to read, mainly because I've made several modifications to this post with different solutions; all based around having a tidy code.

((DOCTYPES have never given me trouble in the past, when I've not included them, but its good practise to include them))

This post has been edited by Quin: 02 July 2009 - 01:14 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 RudiVisser  Icon User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1004
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,562
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

Posted 02 July 2009 - 01:26 PM

View PostQuin, on 2 Jul, 2009 - 11:56 AM, said:

((DOCTYPES have never given me trouble in the past, when I've not included them, but its good practise to include them))

Take a look here for different reactions in diff browsers.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 neit  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 15
  • View blog
  • Posts: 187
  • Joined: 13-February 09

Re: Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

Posted 02 July 2009 - 03:50 PM

I see the image section fine in IE.
There are a few others such as a few of the mention links not working and there's an issue with the members page. but I'm sure you know about those.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 Torroes_prime  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 111
  • Joined: 07-June 09

Re: Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

Posted 02 July 2009 - 09:05 PM

View PostMageUK, on 2 Jul, 2009 - 11:38 AM, said:

It's standards compliant, it won't change operation :)

But it should really tell you about Doctypes, what tutorials are you using?


It's the tutorials out of my text book for Introduction to Computer Applications and Concepts.

Here's the info on the book if you wanna check it out:
New Perspectives: HTML and XHTML. Introductory Level 5th Edition
Author: Patrick Carey
Copy Write 2009 Course Technology, Cengage Learning.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 Torroes_prime  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 111
  • Joined: 07-June 09

Re: Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

Posted 02 July 2009 - 11:00 PM

View Postneit, on 2 Jul, 2009 - 02:50 PM, said:

I see the image section fine in IE.
There are a few others such as a few of the mention links not working and there's an issue with the members page. but I'm sure you know about those.




the mention links? Not sure what you're referring to. I know the 'News' 'Members' and 'join' links should be null and lead to nothing but a reload of the current page. The actually website is kinda somewhere below the "concept" stages. I took Introduction to Computer Applications and concepts last semester and we spent 2 classes on web pages. I rather enjoyed it, so I kept going in the book well and totally beyond where the class covered (for reference sack, Chapter 2 was about adding hyper links and that was where we stopped). My villain group on City of heroes decided it'd be a good idea to have a website so I took what I got out of my text book and am applying to actually making a web page. Right now, the website is at the "This would be cool. I wonder if I could do it?" stage.


Hmmm, a friend recommended I feed the site through a code validator. He threw me a link to http://www.w3schools...te_validate.asp for a validator. I ran the page through and I'm kinda scratching my head at the results.



I guess it'd be easier for you guys to run it through and see the results for yourself then for me to sit here and list em off.

but the one that's getting me is:

"XML Parsing Error: Opening and ending tag mismatch:"

I got that 7 times for the </html> tag.... um huh?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 neit  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 15
  • View blog
  • Posts: 187
  • Joined: 13-February 09

Re: Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

Posted 03 July 2009 - 07:50 AM

sorry that was a typo supposed to be main links.

I would use the validator at http://www.w3.org/

The site looks fine for me in IE7 except issue with the members page.

It will just be a matter of learning and trying to make new sites to
you get to the stage where you will get the design right, then go further and make those standards compliant if thats the way you want to go.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 Torroes_prime  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 111
  • Joined: 07-June 09

Re: Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

Posted 03 July 2009 - 09:25 PM

View Postneit, on 3 Jul, 2009 - 06:50 AM, said:

sorry that was a typo supposed to be main links.

I would use the validator at http://www.w3.org/

The site looks fine for me in IE7 except issue with the members page.

It will just be a matter of learning and trying to make new sites to
you get to the stage where you will get the design right, then go further and make those standards compliant if thats the way you want to go.



what issue with the members page are you referring to? I'm looking at it in IE 7, IE 8, Firefox 2 and 3, Opera, Safari and Chrome. I don't see any issues with it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 neit  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 15
  • View blog
  • Posts: 187
  • Joined: 13-February 09

Re: Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

Posted 04 July 2009 - 06:16 AM

Its not there now.
There was a cap between the red spikey border and the red footer below
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 Torroes_prime  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 111
  • Joined: 07-June 09

Re: Showing in FF, Safarie, Opera and Chrome, but not IE

Posted 05 July 2009 - 06:36 PM

View Postneit, on 4 Jul, 2009 - 05:16 AM, said:

Its not there now.
There was a cap between the red spikey border and the red footer below



Hmmm donno what to say. I never saw so I didn't fix it. Maybe I tweaked something in the CSS file that fixed it.

well, I've fixed a couple things and started working on a couple others. But now I've got a new little glitch. I have the Background Div with a background image set to repeat. But for some reason it's not repeating behind the foot1 div on one page (so far). Here's the page where it's not showing: http://www.mgc-proje...rusherResad.htm

any ideas what I borked here?

This post has been edited by Torroes_prime: 05 July 2009 - 08:23 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2