6 Replies - 1188 Views - Last Post: 15 July 2009 - 03:27 AM

#1 Renovatio  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: 20-February 09

Hosting a website on my own computer

Posted 02 July 2009 - 04:19 PM

So I'm trying to host a webpage on a spare computer I have sitting around but I've hit some problems in the process. Mainly just that after reading a few articles and guides on doing this I still for some reason am not able to view the site on another computer (yes the other computer is on a different network, a laptop on a wireless net card). I'm using apache to host and I have a paid url. Below is
the "tutorial/walkthrough" I keep going back to.

Perhaps I've been doing this wrong or perhaps that is wrong information but hopefully someone can assist me. :D

The machine is an xp computer with sp2. The modem/router I have is an actiontec and I've already done the port forwarding as well as dealt with the firewall. The computer has webroot spy sweeper (as it was recommended to have at least one protection program on for self hosting, even though I prefer CA over Spy Sweeper, that's whats on it.)

This post has been edited by Renovatio: 02 July 2009 - 04:24 PM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Hosting a website on my own computer

#2 Oler1s  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1395
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,884
  • Joined: 04-June 09

Re: Hosting a website on my own computer

Posted 02 July 2009 - 04:26 PM

There are so many places that a problem can come up.

1) Can you actually view the site on the same computer as the server?
2) Have you configured Apache to accept outside connections? I don't recall the default, but it may be configured to reject requests from any IP other than itself (a secure default), but not what you want.

Did you set up httpd.conf appropriately?

3) If you have a router, did you portforward?
4) Can you reach the website with an IP, as opposed to the URL?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

Reputation: 5182
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,886
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Hosting a website on my own computer

Posted 02 July 2009 - 09:16 PM

** Moved to Web Servers & Hosting **

Also, you should check with your ISP & make sure that they allow port 80 requests in your service. Residential contracts sometimes don't allow commercial ports, because they want to urge you to buy a larger contract.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Renovatio  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: 20-February 09

Re: Hosting a website on my own computer

Posted 06 July 2009 - 09:14 PM

I don't know what you're talking about when you say "Did you set up httpd.conf appropriately?" Other than that....
1.)I can view the website on the host computer by typing into the url bar "localhost"
2.) I haven't configured Apache to accept outside connections but I don't think I've disabled them either, I merely installed it and proceeded to go about my business lol.
3.) I have already setup the port forwarding. (though I don't know what this dynamic IP stuff is.)
4.) I will check with the ISP to find out if I'm able to host using my current internet.
5.) I cannot reach the website with the url but I have yet to try by the ip so I will go about trying that.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Renovatio  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: 20-February 09

Re: Hosting a website on my own computer

Posted 07 July 2009 - 10:09 AM

View PostOler1s, on 2 Jul, 2009 - 03:26 PM, said:

There are so many places that a problem can come up.

1) Can you actually view the site on the same computer as the server?
2) Have you configured Apache to accept outside connections? I don't recall the default, but it may be configured to reject requests from any IP other than itself (a secure default), but not what you want.

Did you set up httpd.conf appropriately?

3) If you have a router, did you portforward?
4) Can you reach the website with an IP, as opposed to the URL?


So where I'm at now is figuring out what/if I am supposed to configure the httpd.conf file and/or what would need changed/configured about it. I also do not understand what that guide mentioned by Dynamic/Static DNS. It's the only step I do not understand and have not correctly done I'm sure.

I've gone to the site the domain name is registered at and the "Numeric IP" that is listed there for the site leads to a "under construction" type page.

Quote

209.62.20.200
Under construction Page

The guide listed in my original post had told me I need to do something with dynamic/static dns http://www.boutell.c...mainathome.html

This post has been edited by Renovatio: 07 July 2009 - 10:13 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

Reputation: 5182
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,886
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Hosting a website on my own computer

Posted 07 July 2009 - 11:56 PM

When I goto http://209.62.20.200 I get redirected to searchacross.com

You want to configure your httpd.conf to listen to port 80, handle the default settings, install php/cgi-bin, any mods you wish to load, & lastly (& most importantly) you want to point to your root web directory, & setup your index page.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#7 kanthcoolguy  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 09-July 09

Re: Hosting a website on my own computer

Posted 15 July 2009 - 03:27 AM

its possible but ready to face some consequence like security problem, maintanance ...so simply you can host with some other hosting company last week i found a hosting company ** removed ** for further...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1