C++ Compiler

The Best c++ Compiler(on a budget)

Page 1 of 1

8 Replies - 928 Views - Last Post: 14 July 2009 - 08:11 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

C++ Compiler

Post icon  Posted 14 July 2009 - 08:46 AM

ok, help me out guys. i have the free version Dev-Cpp compiler, as i am only new at this. Is this compiler gunna go the distance or will i need upgrade? If so, at which stage do i need to invest, where do i get it from, and will using Dev-Cpp compromise my ability on a newer compiler (i.e that whole"cant teach an old dog new tricks" concept) ?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: C++ Compiler

• New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: C++ Compiler

Posted 14 July 2009 - 08:59 AM

Dev-Cpp will work for you for quite a while. Once you want to start making app's with a GUI you can get Visual C++ Express Edition from Microsoft for free, which is a good compiler, it just has a lot of bloat in it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 14 July 2009 - 08:59 AM

The newest versions of GCC have full support for all of the standardised language features in addition to partial support for features anticipated in the C++0x release. MinGW is based on GCC, and the Dev-CPP environment (at least all of the recent ones) use MinGW as the standard compiler.

So, to simplify, the compiler shipped with recent versions of Dev-CPP is perfectly fine and won't weigh you down.

-Disclaimer: it'll work Unless you're a freak about the assembly the compiler generates (no offense intended to all of you :) i've done that before)in this case you can use either MSVC++ or intel's compiler.