Page 1 of 1

Beginning Scheme programming

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Post icon  Posted 18 July 2009 - 02:30 AM

Hello, welcome to my little Scheme tutorial.
I'm still a bit of a beginner to Scheme myself, so this will be very basic.
However, Scheme is a natural language for me and I learn it rather quickly so I'll likely be adding updates when I learn more.

Anyway, let's begin.
First off, Scheme is in a family of languages called LISP, short for list-processing. As such, the language specializes in processing lists (go figure).
Lists can be very powerful tools if used properly. You can manage entire sets of data at once using lists. There are a few peculiarities of the LISP languages that date back to its initial inception. I will make an attempt to explain these the best I can as I go along.

First things I would like to discuss about the language. The basic design of the language is oriented towards 'functional programming'. Basically, functional programming attempts to create clean, concise functions without the types of side-effects that can arise in object-oriented languages and the like.
The method for producing functions is based on Alonzo Church's Lambda Calculus. As I am not an expert at this topic, I won't go into it at depth. Suffice it to say that functions are generally formed using lambda notation derived from the lambda calculus. Also, the syntax of the language is in prefix notation like the lambda calculus (in other words instead of most languages that would say something like f(x, y) Scheme says (f x y)).