Creating a Multiplication Table

Need to make a program that will output a multiplicationtable plus som

Page 1 of 1

3 Replies - 4508 Views - Last Post: 22 July 2009 - 06:22 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 NewbieDan  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 22-July 09

Creating a Multiplication Table

Post icon  Posted 22 July 2009 - 10:10 AM

Hello all. I was looking for some help with an assignment I have in my C++ class. Im at my wits end with it.
So, to the point.
it is a console program.
The program has to take 2 numbers, one representing the starting number the other the ending number, and take those two numbers and output a multiplication table.
The area I'm lost on is the sum of the table. It is suppose to take all the numbers on the table and add them up, but I cant get it to do it. Every thin I've tried breaks the program.
The table Format is off, bit I may be able to figure that out on my own.

For the purposes of consistency, Im useing 2 for the first number and 5 for the second.
The output should look like this
X 2 3 4 5
2 4 6 8 10
3 6 9 12 15
4 8 12 16 20
5 10 15 20 25
Rows printed = 4
Columns printed = 4
Sum: 196

But Im getting
X 1 2 3 4 5
1 1 2 3 4 5
2 2 4 6 8 10
Rows printed: 2
Columns printed: 5
Sum of the Table: 9


#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
	{
	int low = 0;
	int high = 0;
	int rows = 0;
	int columns = 0;
	int accumOne = 0;
	int accumTwo = 0;
	cout << "Enter first number: ";
	cin >> rows;
	cout << "Enter second numnber: ";
	cin >> columns;
	cout << endl;
	cout << "THE MULTIPLICATION TABLE";
	cout << endl;
	for (high = 1; high <= columns; high++) 
	{ 
	cout << "\t" << high; 
	}
	cout << endl;
	accumOne = accumOne + high;
		for (low = 1; low <= rows; low++) 
		{
		cout << low;
		accumTwo = accumTwo + low;
			for (high = 1; high <= columns; high++) 
			{
			cout << "\t" << low * high;
			}
			cout << endl;
		}
	cout << "Rows printed: " << rows << endl;
	cout << "Columns printed: " << columns << endl;
	cout << "Sum of table: " << accumOne + accumTwo << endl;

return 0;
}


This post has been edited by NewbieDan: 22 July 2009 - 10:11 AM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Creating a Multiplication Table

#2 eker676  Icon User is offline

  • Software Engineer
  • member icon

Reputation: 378
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,833
  • Joined: 18-April 09

Re: Creating a Multiplication Table

Posted 22 July 2009 - 10:40 AM

Since, I have a lot of time on my hands I debugged it and fixed it for you.

That practice is not approved of by DIC but, I was feeling nice and a genuine effort was made on your part.

In the future, debug all your code when you get logic errors like these. ( To debug your code download Visual C++ Express Edition 2008, place a breakpoint, and hit the play button )

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
	{
	int low = 0;
	int high = 0;
	int rows = 0;
	int columns = 0;
	int sum = 0;

	cout << "Enter first number: ";
	cin >> rows;
	cout << "Enter second numnber: ";
	cin >> columns;
	cout << endl;
	cout << "THE MULTIPLICATION TABLE";
	cout << endl << endl;
	
	// Print out top number row, THESE are NOT calculated values
	for (int i = rows; i <= columns; i++)
	{
		cout << "\t" << i;
	}
	cout << endl;   

	// Print the inner rows, THESE ARE calculated values
	for (int j = rows; j <= columns; j++)
	{
		cout << j; // Print the row #
		
			for (int k = rows; k <= columns; k++)
			{
				cout << "\t" << j * k;
				sum += j * k; // Add the number to the sum
			}

		cout << endl; // Next row
	}

	cout << "\nRows printed: " << columns << endl; // This needs to be columns, because the program prints out the same # of rows
												 // and columns
	cout << "Columns printed: " << columns << endl;
	cout << "Sum of table: " << sum << endl << endl;

	return 0;

This post has been edited by eker676: 22 July 2009 - 10:41 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 NewbieDan  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 22-July 09

Re: Creating a Multiplication Table

Posted 22 July 2009 - 11:11 AM

Thanks a ton. Im seeing what I did wrong and what I was missing.

So, it would seem to me that I should have used local variables in each of the for loops instead of trying to track the values globally.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 eker676  Icon User is offline

  • Software Engineer
  • member icon

Reputation: 378
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,833
  • Joined: 18-April 09

Re: Creating a Multiplication Table

Posted 22 July 2009 - 06:22 PM

Always try to use local variables instead of global variables.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1