6 Replies - 674 Views - Last Post: 29 July 2009 - 05:37 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Help with Algorithms "ContinueWithLabeledBreakDemo"

Post icon  Posted 28 July 2009 - 07:06 PM

I am new to java programing and algorithms I was going through the the java tutorial and was quite proud of myself as I was surviving chapt. 3 then I came across this demo and began to lose my footing
Can you please help me by explaining these few lines of code in the ContinueWithLabelDemo?(from the Java Tutorial 4th Edition) correct me if i am wrong thanks . Oh yeah the (?) means if my note is incorrect, then please explain or clarify else comment if you wish.

class ContinueWithLabelDemo {
public static void main(String[] args) {
String searchMe = "Look for a substring in me"; //String literal declaration instantiated
String substring = "sub"; //String literal declaration instantiated
boolean foundIt = false; //Boolean Primitive data type instantiated

int max = searchMe.length() - substring.length(); // This evaluates to a numerical integer value of 23 (Y/N)?
test:
for (int i = 0; i <= max; i++) { // This means: at this time integer i's numerical value is 0 and it will remain so until the next iteration of this loop then the value for i will be 1 and so on (Y/N)?
int n = subString.length(); // This means that integer n evaluates numerically to 3. (Y/N)?
int j = i; //This means integer J evaluates to the numerical value of 0 and will not evaluate to 1 until the next iteration of this loop. (Y/N)?
int k = 0;
while (n-- != 0) { //This means that while integer n-- (meaning 3=3-1) evaluates to not equal to 0 (Y/N)?
if (searchMe.charAt(j++) != substring.charAt(k++)) { // Meaning search for particular substring of text to match the it's parent as long as the test returns in-equal increment the variable J & K by 1(Y/N)?