.htaccess Configuration help

Help with .htaccess files for my website with apache

Page 1 of 1

2 Replies - 1419 Views - Last Post: 05 August 2009 - 11:12 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

.htaccess Configuration help

Post icon  Posted 03 August 2009 - 04:47 AM

I have done a lot of research in this, but I could really use some help. I'm sure that there is some sort of book out there called 'htaccess for dummies', but at least I don't have to place my skill level there. lol I've got some security access issues before I open up my site to the public, and I want to make sure they are strong and effective, of course.

I'm still learning about apache (we never stop learning though...) I know that I can lock folders with a click in the cpanel, but to me that's like using a calculator while you were supposed to be learning the elements and processes of calculations. I want to understand this from the base up. My host/server is on Hostmonster. I read some good recommendations and so far it has worked out well.

I'm trying to understand where I should be making the Public_Html pages and what is the difference in www access? Do they mirror each other? Change one and the other changes, as well with synchronized files? Should I be writing to my document root home folder for everything? The one that's outside the public html and www? Or should I edit private things from the document root?

It's a little hard to explain, but this is what I want to accomplish. Here's the current code piece that I have, but this just denies access from the web to everyone, of course, who has the credentials. That's fine while I am working on the site, but the configuration needs to be open in order to let the public, registered users, and superusers the correct access. I also currently have a robot.txt file blocking any bot access. I have a question about that, but I'll put it in a separate post.

# password protection allowing directory and file access
AuthType Basic
Authname "Restricted Area"