What will i need to learn to work in freelancing

Page 1 of 1

7 Replies - 1405 Views - Last Post: 05 March 2010 - 09:04 PM

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

What do I need to know?

Posted 05 August 2009 - 04:26 PM

I'm 15, and I've been programming in C++ for about a year. My idea is to learn as much as I can while I'm still in high school that way, I'll be able to get some odd jobs as I'm studying in college. I was wondering what is generally required to get simple freelancing jobs? By simple, I mean, something that wouldn't require a degree (if possible)

I already/I'm learning know:
C/C++
Gtk+
Win32
DirectX
Cairo Graphics Library

What else could I learn to add to my resume?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What do I need to know?

• GAME OVER. NERD WINS.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What do I need to know?

Posted 05 August 2009 - 05:13 PM

it depends who you're working for. I've found web-dev stuff, like html can be good for just little odd jobs, because tons of people have a web site, but not everybody wants a program written for them. I've updated my friends and teachers sites a couple of times. I didn't get paid for it, but I'm sure you can find people who will pay you.

As to what to learn, it just depends on what you want to do. Do you know places that'll need directX experience? Do you think you'll be able to find some? My advice is learn everything you can about everything when you're young. I've tackled several languages, and each one teaches you something and will make you a better programmer/more employable.

I'm 15 too, and it would be great to get some jobs in college. :D
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• you can't fix stupid.

• View blog

Posted 07 August 2009 - 03:59 AM