tying php records into SEO

Page 1 of 1

5 Replies - 1968 Views - Last Post: 10 March 2010 - 10:07 PM

#1 ninethousandfeet@msn.com  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 310
  • Joined: 09-February 09

tying php records into SEO

Post icon  Posted 06 August 2009 - 09:08 AM

Hi,

I am new to SEO and I am trying to figure out how I can increase the amount of my user's input that will show up in search engine results.
Example: DIC is a great example of this. If you do a Google search for something similar to my posting title for this question, it is likely that this post will come up in the top ten results of the search. How?

I am assuming that DIC somehow ties the php code into the title tag or something, but I don't get how it works. From my understanding, php code is dynamic and displays info only when called upon to display that info from the db. If this is right, then how would this information seem static in a Google search?

Any help is appreciated, thank you for taking time to check this out.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: tying php records into SEO

#2 gregwhitworth  Icon User is offline

  • Tired.
  • member icon

Reputation: 219
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,604
  • Joined: 20-January 09

Re: tying php records into SEO

Posted 06 August 2009 - 02:46 PM

TO be honest - not the best to answer your question but you've waited a while. Some of the guys on here are great.

Can't explain how they get to your data - but what is important is that they DO. My guess is that it does exactly what it always does and crawls the site hitting each link and then crawling that page. So it is requesting the data from the db just like a user. The only reason why I know this is because my site uses a db and some of the pages are on Google when you do searches.

So plug the title in using echo $articleName or whatever.

Hopefully more people will give you more concise information.

Good luck.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1876
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,284
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: tying php records into SEO

Posted 06 August 2009 - 02:52 PM

It's all about links. Every page on this site links to other pages.

This thread's URL is showtopic118823.htm. It's linked from the homepage for a few minutes, linked from the SEO & Advertising forum for a couple days, and it'll always be linked from our sitemap, and some page in the SEO forum.

This page is always here. And since it's linked from another page google knows about, google can find it and just like you're looking at it now (clicking from some place) google does the same thing.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#5 gregwhitworth  Icon User is offline

  • Tired.
  • member icon

Reputation: 219
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,604
  • Joined: 20-January 09

Re: tying php records into SEO

Posted 06 August 2009 - 02:58 PM

Quote

It's all about links. Every page on this site links to other pages.


Freakin' SCORE! Thanks skyhawk!

--

Greg
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#6 ninethousandfeet@msn.com  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 310
  • Joined: 09-February 09

Re: tying php records into SEO

Posted 06 August 2009 - 03:03 PM

Thank you both very much for the help. I'll work on this and get my seo improved.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 ninethousandfeet@msn.com  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 310
  • Joined: 09-February 09

Re: tying php records into SEO

Posted 10 March 2010 - 10:07 PM

Kind of revisiting SEO and trying to make improvements. In this thread, we talked (skyhawk talked and I listened) about links being the key factor. This thread is still found by google b/c it is linked and remembered by the bots, etc.

Let's say I do a google search for:
linked from the SEO & Advertising forum for a couple days

The #1 result is this thread.

So if google is remember this page because of the actual page name: http://www.dreaminco...howtopic=118823
... then how does it know or retrieve the text of the page?

I would assume php is involved in the meta tags somewhere, but this is where I'm lost and seeking help. Any advice?

cheers,
brad
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1