7 Replies - 6298 Views - Last Post: 10 August 2009 - 09:32 PM

#1 kewlkreator  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 38
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,065
  • Joined: 25-March 09

Domain in XAMPP

Posted 10 August 2009 - 05:10 PM

Ok, I have installed XAMPP and I want to know how to set up a .com or .net with it. Can I?

(Yes, I just asked how to block it but that was because people could find my IP)
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Domain in XAMPP

#2 RudiVisser  Icon User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1002
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,562
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: Domain in XAMPP

Posted 10 August 2009 - 05:25 PM

Of course you can, but it's nothing to do with XAMPP.

A domain will just point at your IP address (via DNS) and XAMPP is automatically handling all requests that point to port 80 on your system, so it will work straight off.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 kewlkreator  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 38
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,065
  • Joined: 25-March 09

Re: Domain in XAMPP

Posted 10 August 2009 - 05:49 PM

So how do I set up DNS? Does it cost?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 RudiVisser  Icon User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1002
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,562
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: Domain in XAMPP

Posted 10 August 2009 - 06:18 PM

Domains cost... DNS Hosting will probably be provided as a free service by your domain provider, just setup appopriate A records pointing to your IP.

Although, your IP probably changes, so you could look into a service like dyndns.org.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#5 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

Reputation: 5178
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,870
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Domain in XAMPP

Posted 10 August 2009 - 06:26 PM

Surely XAMPP comes with documentation.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 RudiVisser  Icon User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1002
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,562
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: Domain in XAMPP

Posted 10 August 2009 - 06:41 PM

It does, but XAMPP isn't meant as a "serious" web package - It doesn't contain a DNS server required to do this routing.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

Reputation: 5178
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,870
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Domain in XAMPP

Posted 10 August 2009 - 06:44 PM

That explains the lack of a "d" in XAMPP. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 kewlkreator  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 38
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,065
  • Joined: 25-March 09

Re: Domain in XAMPP

Posted 10 August 2009 - 09:32 PM

Yup. But they have FTP yet no "f"...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1